lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 07 Feb 2011 13:26:09 +0100
From:	Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@...llo.nl>
To:	Stefan Fritsch <sf@...itsch.de>
Cc:	Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@...il.com>,
	Eric Paris <eparis@...hat.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...e.hu>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@...achi.com>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, agl@...gle.com, tzanussi@...il.com,
	Jason Baron <jbaron@...hat.com>,
	Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
	2nddept-manager@....hitachi.co.jp,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...hat.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>
Subject: Re: Using ftrace/perf as a basis for generic seccomp

On Sat, 2011-02-05 at 12:51 +0100, Stefan Fritsch wrote:

> A really major use case is socketcall(2). All socket related syscalls 
> (accept, bind, connect, receivemsg, ...) are implemented as socketcall 
> with an appropriate argument. There will be many cases where you want a 
> sandboxed process to be able to do recvmsg(2) to receive new file 
> descriptors over an already open unix-domain socket from a broker process. 
> But you may want to disallow other socket operations, especially listen, 
> accept, and connect.
> 
> Of course one could also add some special case handling for socketcall 
> in seccomp instead of using the full filtering.

That looks like a perfect use-case for the LSM bits, attach some state
to both the fd object and the task object and if they don't match, don't
allow the action.



--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ