lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 13 Feb 2018 23:25:55 +0100
From:   Enric Balletbo Serra <eballetbo@...il.com>
To:     Brian Norris <briannorris@...omium.org>
Cc:     Enric Balletbo i Serra <enric.balletbo@...labora.com>,
        Jeffy Chen <jeffy.chen@...k-chips.com>,
        linux-kernel <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Brian Norris <briannorris@...gle.com>, dtor@...gle.com,
        Doug Anderson <dianders@...gle.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Joseph Lo <josephl@...dia.com>,
        stephen lu <lumotuwe@...il.com>,
        Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com>,
        Kate Stewart <kstewart@...uxfoundation.org>,
        linux-input@...r.kernel.org,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@...b.com>,
        Arvind Yadav <arvind.yadav.cs@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/3] Input: gpio-keys - add support for wakeup event action

Hi,

2018-02-13 19:25 GMT+01:00 Brian Norris <briannorris@...omium.org>:
> Hi Enric,
>
> On Tue, Feb 13, 2018 at 11:40:44AM +0100, Enric Balletbo i Serra wrote:
>> On 12/02/18 23:13, Brian Norris wrote:
>> > On Sat, Feb 10, 2018 at 07:09:05PM +0800, Jeffy Chen wrote:
>> >> Add support for specifying event actions to trigger wakeup when using
>> >> the gpio-keys input device as a wakeup source.
>> >>
>> >> This would allow the device to configure when to wakeup the system. For
>> >> example a gpio-keys input device for pen insert, may only want to wakeup
>> >> the system when ejecting the pen.
>> >>
>> >> Suggested-by: Brian Norris <briannorris@...omium.org>
>> >> Signed-off-by: Jeffy Chen <jeffy.chen@...k-chips.com>
>> >> ---
>> >>
>> >> Changes in v2:
>> >> Specify wakeup event action instead of irq trigger type as Brian
>> >> suggested.
> [...]
>> Not sure if you were aware but there is also some discussion related to this,
>> maybe we can join the efforts?
>>
>> v1: https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/10208261/
>> v2: https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/10211147/
>
> Thanks for the pointers. IIUC, that's talking about a different problem:
> how to utilize a GPIO key in level-triggered mode. That touches similar
> code, but it doesn't really have anything to do with configuring a
> different wakeup trigger type.
>

Right, sorry. I see now what you are doing.

> The two patches would need to be reconciled, if they both are going to
> be merged. But otherwise, I think they're perfectly fine to be separate.
>

Yes, that's why I got confused, I had those patches applied on my tree
and when I tried to apply these failed and I wrongly assumed that were
doing the same. Waiting to test the third version ;)

Thanks,
 Enric

> Brian

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ