lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 16 Apr 2018 18:35:44 +0000
From:   Sasha Levin <Alexander.Levin@...rosoft.com>
To:     Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>
CC:     Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        "stable@...r.kernel.org" <stable@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "akpm@...ux-foundation.org" <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        "linux-mm@...ck.org" <linux-mm@...ck.org>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>,
        Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
        Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>, Michal Hocko <mhocko@...nel.org>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>, Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@...ove.sakura.ne.jp>,
        Byungchul Park <byungchul.park@....com>,
        Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>, Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH AUTOSEL for 4.14 015/161] printk: Add console owner and
 waiter logic to load balance console writes

On Mon, Apr 16, 2018 at 02:26:53PM -0400, Steven Rostedt wrote:
>On Mon, 16 Apr 2018 17:42:38 +0000
>Sasha Levin <Alexander.Levin@...rosoft.com> wrote:
>> Also note that all of these patches were tagged for stable and actually
>> ended up in at least one tree.
>>
>> This is why I'm basing a lot of my decision making on the rejection rate.
>> If the AUTOSEL process does the job well enough as the "regular"
>> process did before, why push it back?
>
>Because I think we are adding too many patches to stable. And
>automating it may just make things worse. Your examples above back my
>argument more than they refute it. If people can't determine what is
>"obviously correct" how is automation going to do any better?

I don't understand that statament, it sounds illogical to me.

If I were to tell you that I have a crack team of 10 kernel hackers who
dig through all mainline commits to find commits that should be
backported to stable, and they do it with less mistakes than
authors/maintainers make when they tag their own commits, would I get the
same level of objection?

On the correctness side, I have another effort to improve the quality of
testing -stable commits get, but this is somewhat unrelated to the whole
automatic selection process.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ