lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 2 Sep 2017 06:25:29 +0000
From:   Dexuan Cui <decui@...rosoft.com>
To:     Stefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@...hat.com>,
        "Jorgen S. Hansen" <jhansen@...are.com>
CC:     "davem@...emloft.net" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        "netdev@...r.kernel.org" <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        "gregkh@...uxfoundation.org" <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        "devel@...uxdriverproject.org" <devel@...uxdriverproject.org>,
        KY Srinivasan <kys@...rosoft.com>,
        "Haiyang Zhang" <haiyangz@...rosoft.com>,
        Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@...rosoft.com>,
        George Zhang <georgezhang@...are.com>,
        Michal Kubecek <mkubecek@...e.cz>, Asias He <asias@...hat.com>,
        Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@...hat.com>,
        "Cathy Avery" <cavery@...hat.com>,
        "jasowang@...hat.com" <jasowang@...hat.com>,
        "Rolf Neugebauer" <rolf.neugebauer@...ker.com>,
        Dave Scott <dave.scott@...ker.com>,
        Marcelo Cerri <marcelo.cerri@...onical.com>,
        "apw@...onical.com" <apw@...onical.com>,
        "olaf@...fle.de" <olaf@...fle.de>,
        "joe@...ches.com" <joe@...ches.com>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>
Subject: RE: [PATCH] vsock: only load vmci transport on VMware hypervisor by
 default

> From: Stefan Hajnoczi [mailto:stefanha@...hat.com]
> Sent: Thursday, August 31, 2017 4:55 AM
> ...
> On Tue, Aug 29, 2017 at 03:37:07PM +0000, Jorgen S. Hansen wrote:
> > > On Aug 29, 2017, at 4:36 AM, Dexuan Cui <decui@...rosoft.com> wrote:
> > If we allow multiple host side transports, virtio host side support and
> > vmci should be able to coexist regardless of the order of initialization.
> 
> That sounds good to me.
> 
> This means af_vsock.c needs to be aware of CID allocation.  Currently the
> vhost_vsock.ko driver handles this itself (it keeps a list of CIDs and
> checks that they are not used twice).  It should be possible to move
> that state into af_vsock.c so we have <cid, host_transport> pairs.
> 
> I'm currently working on NFS over AF_VSOCK and sock_diag support (for
> ss(8) and netstat-like tools).
> 
> Multi-transport support is lower priority for me at the moment.  I'm
> happy to review patches though.  If there is no progress on this by the
> end of the year then I will have time to work on it.
I understand. Thank you both for sharing the details about the plan!
 
> Are either of you are in Prague, Czech Republic on October 25-27 for
> Linux Kernel Summit, Open Source Summit Europe, Embedded Linux
> Conference Europe, KVM Forum, or MesosCon Europe?
> 
> Stefan
I regret I won't be there this year. 

Thanks,
-- Dexuan

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ