lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 10 Nov 2008 10:42:20 +0800
From:	Eugene Teo <eteo@...hat.com>
To:	Greg KH <gregkh@...e.de>
CC:	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, stable@...nel.org,
	Justin Forbes <jmforbes@...uxtx.org>,
	Zwane Mwaikambo <zwane@....linux.org.uk>,
	"Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@....edu>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...otime.net>,
	Dave Jones <davej@...hat.com>,
	Chuck Wolber <chuckw@...ntumlinux.com>,
	Chris Wedgwood <reviews@...cw.f00f.org>,
	Michael Krufky <mkrufky@...uxtv.org>,
	Chuck Ebbert <cebbert@...hat.com>,
	Domenico Andreoli <cavokz@...il.com>, Willy Tarreau <w@....eu>,
	Rodrigo Rubira Branco <rbranco@...checkpoint.com>,
	Jake Edge <jake@....net>, torvalds@...ux-foundation.org,
	akpm@...ux-foundation.org, alan@...rguk.ukuu.org.uk,
	ext4 development <linux-ext4@...r.kernel.org>,
	Eric Sandeen <sandeen@...hat.com>,
	Eugene Teo <eugeneteo@...nel.sg>
Subject: Re: [patch 02/23] ext: Avoid printk floods in the face of directory
 corruption (CVE-2008-3528)

Greg KH wrote:

Please change the description of the bug to:

"A very large directory with many read failures (either due to storage
problems, or due to invalid size & blocks from corruption) will generate
a printk storm as the filesystem continues to try to read all the
blocks. This flood of messages can tie up the box until it is complete -
which may be a very long time, especially for very large corrupted values.

This is fixed by only reporting the corruption once each time we try to
read the directory."

http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/stable/linux-2.6.27.y.git;a=commitdiff;h=bd39597

Thanks, Eugene
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-ext4" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists