lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 18 Nov 2019 10:14:00 -0800
From:   Eric Biggers <ebiggers@...nel.org>
To:     Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko.sakkinen@...ux.intel.com>
Cc:     linux-fscrypt@...r.kernel.org, "Theodore Y . Ts'o" <tytso@....edu>,
        Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@...nel.org>,
        Paul Crowley <paulcrowley@...gle.com>,
        Paul Lawrence <paullawrence@...gle.com>,
        keyrings@...r.kernel.org, linux-ext4@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-f2fs-devel@...ts.sourceforge.net,
        linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org, David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        Ondrej Mosnacek <omosnace@...hat.com>,
        Ondrej Kozina <okozina@...hat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] fscrypt: support passing a keyring key to
 FS_IOC_ADD_ENCRYPTION_KEY

On Mon, Nov 18, 2019 at 08:01:02PM +0200, Jarkko Sakkinen wrote:
> On Fri, Nov 15, 2019 at 03:04:31PM -0800, Eric Biggers wrote:
> > On Sat, Nov 16, 2019 at 12:53:19AM +0200, Jarkko Sakkinen wrote:
> > > 
> > > > I'm working on an xfstest for this:
> > > > 
> > > > 	https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/ebiggers/xfstests-dev.git/commit/?h=fscrypt-provisioning&id=24ab6abb7cf6a80be44b7c72b73f0519ccaa5a97
> > > > 
> > > > It's not quite ready, though.  I'll post it for review when it is.
> > > > 
> > > > Someone is also planning to update Android userspace to use this.  So if there
> > > > are any issues from that, I'll hear about it.
> > > 
> > > Cool. Can you combine this patch and matching test (once it is done) to
> > > a patch set?
> > > 
> > 
> > xfstests is developed separately from the kernel (different git repo and
> > maintainer), so combining kernel and xfstests patches into the same patchset
> > doesn't make sense.  I can certainly send them out at the same time, though.
> 
> Is there instructions somewhere how to build and run these tests?
> 
> For me it is sufficient if you point a branch and have some kind
> of instructions somewhere.
> 

There are many ways to run xfstests, but I usually use kvm-xfstests.  See the
command to run the encryption tests here:

https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/filesystems/fscrypt.html#tests

More details about kvm-xfstests are here:

https://github.com/tytso/xfstests-bld/blob/master/Documentation/kvm-quickstart.md
https://github.com/tytso/xfstests-bld/blob/master/Documentation/kvm-xfstests.md

But if you want to run tests which aren't included in the prebuilt kvm-xfstests
test appliance yet (such as the test for this patch), it's not quite as
straightforward since you'll also need to build your own test appliance:

https://github.com/tytso/xfstests-bld/blob/master/Documentation/building-rootfs.md

Also note that this test will require both xfstests and xfsprogs updates:

https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/ebiggers/xfstests-dev.git/log/?h=fscrypt-provisioning
https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/ebiggers/xfsprogs-dev.git/log/?h=fscrypt-provisioning

- Eric

Powered by blists - more mailing lists