lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 20 Nov 2020 13:15:57 -0800
From:   Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:     Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@...ntu.com>
Cc:     Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
        linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        John Johansen <john.johansen@...onical.com>,
        James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@...il.com>,
        Stephen Smalley <stephen.smalley.work@...il.com>,
        Casey Schaufler <casey@...aufler-ca.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@...ger.ca>,
        OGAWA Hirofumi <hirofumi@...l.parknet.co.jp>,
        Geoffrey Thomas <geofft@...reload.com>,
        Mrunal Patel <mpatel@...hat.com>,
        Josh Triplett <josh@...htriplett.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Theodore Tso <tytso@....edu>, Alban Crequy <alban@...volk.io>,
        Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@...senpartnership.com>,
        Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
        Seth Forshee <seth.forshee@...onical.com>,
        St├ęphane Graber <stgraber@...ntu.com>,
        Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@...har.com>,
        Lennart Poettering <lennart@...ttering.net>,
        "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>, smbarber@...omium.org,
        Phil Estes <estesp@...il.com>, Serge Hallyn <serge@...lyn.com>,
        Todd Kjos <tkjos@...gle.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        containers@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
        linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org, linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-ext4@...r.kernel.org, linux-audit@...hat.com,
        linux-integrity@...r.kernel.org, selinux@...r.kernel.org,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 39/39] tests: add vfs/idmapped mounts test suite

On Sun, Nov 15, 2020 at 11:37:18AM +0100, Christian Brauner wrote:
> This adds a whole test suite for idmapped mounts but in order to ensure that
> there are no regression for the vfs itself it also includes tests for correct
> functionality on non-idmapped mounts. The following tests are currently
> available with more to come in the future:

Awesome! :)

Some glitches in the build, though... something about the ordering or
the Make rules produces odd results on a failure:

$ make
gcc -g -I../../../../usr/include/ -Wall -O2 -pthread    xattr.c internal.h utils.c utils.h -lcap -o /home/kees/src/linux-build/seccomp/tools/testing/selftests/idmap_mounts/xattr
gcc -g -I../../../../usr/include/ -Wall -O2 -pthread    core.c internal.h utils.c utils.h -lcap -o /home/kees/src/linux-build/seccomp/tools/testing/selftests/idmap_mounts/core
core.c:19:10: fatal error: sys/acl.h: No such file or directory
   19 | #include <sys/acl.h>
      |          ^~~~~~~~~~~
compilation terminated.
make: *** [../lib.mk:139: /home/kees/src/linux-build/seccomp/tools/testing/selftests/idmap_mounts/core]
Error 1
$ make
make: Nothing to be done for 'all'.
$ file xattr core
xattr: ELF 64-bit LSB shared object, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, interpreter /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2, BuildID[sha1]=7a3c1951e54f20e657b4181c1be77c7183a54f81, for GNU/Linux 3.2.0, with debug_info, not stripped
core:  GCC precompiled header (version 014) for C

Even after I install libacl1-dev, I still get a "core" file output which
breaks attempts to build again. :)


Is there any way to have the test suite not depend on
__NR_mount_setattr? Running this test on older kernels fails everything.


-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists