lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri,  4 Dec 2020 00:57:22 +0100
From:   Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@...ntu.com>
To:     Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
        linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     John Johansen <john.johansen@...onical.com>,
        James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@...il.com>,
        Stephen Smalley <stephen.smalley.work@...il.com>,
        Casey Schaufler <casey@...aufler-ca.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@...ger.ca>,
        OGAWA Hirofumi <hirofumi@...l.parknet.co.jp>,
        Geoffrey Thomas <geofft@...reload.com>,
        Mrunal Patel <mpatel@...hat.com>,
        Josh Triplett <josh@...htriplett.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Theodore Tso <tytso@....edu>, Alban Crequy <alban@...volk.io>,
        Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@...senpartnership.com>,
        Seth Forshee <seth.forshee@...onical.com>,
        St├ęphane Graber <stgraber@...ntu.com>,
        Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@...har.com>,
        Lennart Poettering <lennart@...ttering.net>,
        "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>, smbarber@...omium.org,
        Phil Estes <estesp@...il.com>, Serge Hallyn <serge@...lyn.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Todd Kjos <tkjos@...gle.com>, Paul Moore <paul@...l-moore.com>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        containers@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
        linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org, linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-ext4@...r.kernel.org, linux-integrity@...r.kernel.org,
        selinux@...r.kernel.org,
        Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@...ntu.com>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
Subject: [PATCH v4 26/40] notify: handle idmapped mounts

Enable notify implementations to handle idmapped mounts by passing down
the mount's user namespace. If the initial user namespace is passed
nothing changes so non-idmapped mounts will see identical behavior as
before.

Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@...ntu.com>
---
/* v2 */
patch introduced

/* v3 */
unchanged

/* v4 */
unchanged
---
 fs/notify/fanotify/fanotify_user.c | 2 +-
 fs/notify/inotify/inotify_user.c   | 3 ++-
 2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/fs/notify/fanotify/fanotify_user.c b/fs/notify/fanotify/fanotify_user.c
index de4d01bb1d8d..e3b2cb6a9d81 100644
--- a/fs/notify/fanotify/fanotify_user.c
+++ b/fs/notify/fanotify/fanotify_user.c
@@ -702,7 +702,7 @@ static int fanotify_find_path(int dfd, const char __user *filename,
 	}
 
 	/* you can only watch an inode if you have read permissions on it */
-	ret = inode_permission(&init_user_ns, path->dentry->d_inode, MAY_READ);
+	ret = inode_permission(mnt_user_ns(path->mnt), path->dentry->d_inode, MAY_READ);
 	if (ret) {
 		path_put(path);
 		goto out;
diff --git a/fs/notify/inotify/inotify_user.c b/fs/notify/inotify/inotify_user.c
index e995fd4e4e53..f39f5b81f2b3 100644
--- a/fs/notify/inotify/inotify_user.c
+++ b/fs/notify/inotify/inotify_user.c
@@ -31,6 +31,7 @@
 #include <linux/wait.h>
 #include <linux/memcontrol.h>
 #include <linux/security.h>
+#include <linux/mount.h>
 
 #include "inotify.h"
 #include "../fdinfo.h"
@@ -343,7 +344,7 @@ static int inotify_find_inode(const char __user *dirname, struct path *path,
 	if (error)
 		return error;
 	/* you can only watch an inode if you have read permissions on it */
-	error = inode_permission(&init_user_ns, path->dentry->d_inode, MAY_READ);
+	error = inode_permission(mnt_user_ns(path->mnt), path->dentry->d_inode, MAY_READ);
 	if (error) {
 		path_put(path);
 		return error;
-- 
2.29.2

Powered by blists - more mailing lists