lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 15 Jan 2021 16:22:50 +0000
From:   Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>
To:     Dave Chinner <david@...morbit.com>
Cc:     Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@...ntu.com>,
        Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
        linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        John Johansen <john.johansen@...onical.com>,
        James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@...il.com>,
        Stephen Smalley <stephen.smalley.work@...il.com>,
        Casey Schaufler <casey@...aufler-ca.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@...ger.ca>,
        OGAWA Hirofumi <hirofumi@...l.parknet.co.jp>,
        Geoffrey Thomas <geofft@...reload.com>,
        Mrunal Patel <mpatel@...hat.com>,
        Josh Triplett <josh@...htriplett.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Theodore Tso <tytso@....edu>, Alban Crequy <alban@...volk.io>,
        Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@...senpartnership.com>,
        Seth Forshee <seth.forshee@...onical.com>,
        St?phane Graber <stgraber@...ntu.com>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@...har.com>,
        Lennart Poettering <lennart@...ttering.net>,
        "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>, smbarber@...omium.org,
        Phil Estes <estesp@...il.com>, Serge Hallyn <serge@...lyn.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Todd Kjos <tkjos@...gle.com>, Paul Moore <paul@...l-moore.com>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        containers@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
        linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org, linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-ext4@...r.kernel.org, linux-xfs@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-integrity@...r.kernel.org, selinux@...r.kernel.org,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 37/42] xfs: support idmapped mounts

On Fri, Jan 15, 2021 at 07:51:54AM +1100, Dave Chinner wrote:
> > @@ -813,7 +818,7 @@ xfs_setattr_nonsize(
> >  	 * 	     Posix ACL code seems to care about this issue either.
> >  	 */
> >  	if (mask & ATTR_MODE) {
> > -		error = posix_acl_chmod(&init_user_ns, inode, inode->i_mode);
> > +		error = posix_acl_chmod(mnt_userns, inode, inode->i_mode);
> >  		if (error)
> >  			return error;
> >  	}
> > @@ -868,7 +873,7 @@ xfs_setattr_size(
> >  		 * Use the regular setattr path to update the timestamps.
> >  		 */
> >  		iattr->ia_valid &= ~ATTR_SIZE;
> > -		return xfs_setattr_nonsize(ip, iattr);
> > +		return xfs_setattr_nonsize(&init_user_ns, ip, iattr);
> 
> Shouldn't that be passing mnt_userns?

As Christian already explained we an't hit this with anything related
to uids/gids, the only thing that will be updated are the timestamps,
as also mentioned in the comment that only makes it partially into the
diff context.

> >  	trace_xfs_setattr(ip);
> >  
> > -	error = xfs_vn_change_ok(dentry, iattr);
> > +	error = xfs_vn_change_ok(mnt_userns, dentry, iattr);
> >  	if (error)
> >  		return error;
> >  	return xfs_setattr_size(ip, iattr);
> 
> And this passing mnt_userns down into xfs_setattr_size()?  Seems
> like a bit of a landmine...

That being said we could just pass down the argument, even if it doesn't
make much sense for the size update.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists