lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 18 Oct 2023 13:41:13 -0400
From:   Jeff Layton <jlayton@...nel.org>
To:     Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Christian Brauner <brauner@...nel.org>,
        John Stultz <jstultz@...gle.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...nel.org>,
        Chandan Babu R <chandan.babu@...cle.com>,
        "Darrick J. Wong" <djwong@...nel.org>,
        Dave Chinner <david@...morbit.com>,
        Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
        Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@...ger.ca>,
        Chris Mason <clm@...com>, Josef Bacik <josef@...icpanda.com>,
        David Sterba <dsterba@...e.com>,
        Hugh Dickins <hughd@...gle.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Amir Goldstein <amir73il@...il.com>, Jan Kara <jack@...e.de>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>
Cc:     linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-xfs@...r.kernel.org, linux-ext4@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        linux-nfs@...r.kernel.org, Jeff Layton <jlayton@...nel.org>
Subject: [PATCH RFC 6/9] xfs: switch to multigrain timestamps

Signed-off-by: Jeff Layton <jlayton@...nel.org>
---
 fs/xfs/libxfs/xfs_trans_inode.c |  6 +++---
 fs/xfs/xfs_iops.c               | 10 +++-------
 fs/xfs/xfs_super.c              |  2 +-
 3 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 11 deletions(-)

diff --git a/fs/xfs/libxfs/xfs_trans_inode.c b/fs/xfs/libxfs/xfs_trans_inode.c
index 70e97ea6eee7..42e4e6e964d2 100644
--- a/fs/xfs/libxfs/xfs_trans_inode.c
+++ b/fs/xfs/libxfs/xfs_trans_inode.c
@@ -62,12 +62,12 @@ xfs_trans_ichgtime(
 	ASSERT(tp);
 	ASSERT(xfs_isilocked(ip, XFS_ILOCK_EXCL));
 
-	tv = current_time(inode);
+	/* If the mtime changes, then ctime must also change */
+	ASSERT(flags & XFS_ICHGTIME_CHG);
 
+	tv = inode_set_ctime_current(inode);
 	if (flags & XFS_ICHGTIME_MOD)
 		inode_set_mtime_to_ts(inode, tv);
-	if (flags & XFS_ICHGTIME_CHG)
-		inode_set_ctime_to_ts(inode, tv);
 	if (flags & XFS_ICHGTIME_CREATE)
 		ip->i_crtime = tv;
 }
diff --git a/fs/xfs/xfs_iops.c b/fs/xfs/xfs_iops.c
index 687eff5d9e16..8fb251cbe061 100644
--- a/fs/xfs/xfs_iops.c
+++ b/fs/xfs/xfs_iops.c
@@ -573,8 +573,8 @@ xfs_vn_getattr(
 	stat->gid = vfsgid_into_kgid(vfsgid);
 	stat->ino = ip->i_ino;
 	stat->atime = inode_get_atime(inode);
-	stat->mtime = inode_get_mtime(inode);
-	stat->ctime = inode_get_ctime(inode);
+	fill_mg_cmtime(stat, request_mask, inode);
+
 	stat->blocks = XFS_FSB_TO_BB(mp, ip->i_nblocks + ip->i_delayed_blks);
 
 	if (xfs_has_v3inodes(mp)) {
@@ -914,12 +914,8 @@ xfs_setattr_size(
 	 * these flags set.  For all other operations the VFS set these flags
 	 * explicitly if it wants a timestamp update.
 	 */
-	if (newsize != oldsize &&
-	    !(iattr->ia_valid & (ATTR_CTIME | ATTR_MTIME))) {
-		iattr->ia_ctime = iattr->ia_mtime =
-			current_time(inode);
+	if (newsize != oldsize)
 		iattr->ia_valid |= ATTR_CTIME | ATTR_MTIME;
-	}
 
 	/*
 	 * The first thing we do is set the size to new_size permanently on
diff --git a/fs/xfs/xfs_super.c b/fs/xfs/xfs_super.c
index 819a3568b28f..c8a2dae1dd65 100644
--- a/fs/xfs/xfs_super.c
+++ b/fs/xfs/xfs_super.c
@@ -2033,7 +2033,7 @@ static struct file_system_type xfs_fs_type = {
 	.init_fs_context	= xfs_init_fs_context,
 	.parameters		= xfs_fs_parameters,
 	.kill_sb		= xfs_kill_sb,
-	.fs_flags		= FS_REQUIRES_DEV | FS_ALLOW_IDMAP,
+	.fs_flags		= FS_REQUIRES_DEV | FS_ALLOW_IDMAP | FS_MGTIME,
 };
 MODULE_ALIAS_FS("xfs");
 

-- 
2.41.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists