lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 2 Apr 2021 08:32:21 +0200
From:   Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
To:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc:     Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>,
        Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@...il.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
        Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Kefeng Wang <wangkefeng.wang@...wei.com>,
        "Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@...radead.org>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org,
        clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com, Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
        Lee Duncan <lduncan@...e.com>, Chris Leech <cleech@...hat.com>,
        Adam Nichols <adam@...mm-co.com>,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 3/3] sysfs: Unconditionally use vmalloc for buffer

On Thu, Apr 01, 2021 at 03:13:20PM -0700, Kees Cook wrote:
> The sysfs interface to seq_file continues to be rather fragile
> (seq_get_buf() should not be used outside of seq_file), as seen with
> some recent exploits[1]. Move the seq_file buffer to the vmap area
> (while retaining the accounting flag), since it has guard pages that will
> catch and stop linear overflows. This seems justified given that sysfs's
> use of seq_file almost always already uses PAGE_SIZE allocations, has
> normally short-lived allocations, and is not normally on a performance
> critical path.

This looks completely weird to me.  In the end sysfs uses nothing
of the seq_file infrastructure, so why do we even pretend to use it?
Just switch sysfs_file_kfops_ro and sysfs_file_kfops_rw from using
->seq_show to ->read and do the vmalloc there instead of pretending
this is a seq_file.

> Once seq_get_buf() has been removed (and all sysfs callbacks using
> seq_file directly), this change can also be removed.

And with sysfs out of the way I think kiling off the other few users
should be pretty easy as well.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists