lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 17 Jun 2021 07:50:11 +0200
From:   Wolfram Sang <wsa+renesas@...g-engineering.com>
To:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc:     netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Sergei Shtylyov <sergei.shtylyov@...il.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Sergey Shtylyov <s.shtylyov@...russia.ru>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>,
        Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
        Michael Walle <michael@...le.cc>,
        Yang Yingliang <yangyingliang@...wei.com>,
        Rikard Falkeborn <rikard.falkeborn@...il.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] sh_eth: Avoid memcpy() over-reading of ETH_SS_STATS

On Wed, Jun 16, 2021 at 12:53:33PM -0700, Kees Cook wrote:
> In preparation for FORTIFY_SOURCE performing compile-time and run-time
> field bounds checking for memcpy(), memmove(), and memset(), avoid
> intentionally reading across neighboring array fields.
> 
> The memcpy() is copying the entire structure, not just the first array.
> Adjust the source argument so the compiler can do appropriate bounds
> checking.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>

For the record:

Reviewed-by: Wolfram Sang <wsa+renesas@...g-engineering.com>


Download attachment "signature.asc" of type "application/pgp-signature" (834 bytes)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists