lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 1 Aug 2021 10:47:31 +0200
From:   Len Baker <len.baker@....com>
To:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Andy Gross <agross@...nel.org>,
        Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>,
        Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>,
        Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@...il.com>,
        Santosh Shilimkar <ssantosh@...nel.org>
Cc:     Len Baker <len.baker@....com>,
        David Laight <David.Laight@...LAB.COM>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] drivers/soc: Remove all strcpy() uses

On Sat, Jul 31, 2021 at 07:18:25PM +0200, Len Baker wrote:
> strcpy() performs no bounds checking on the destination buffer. This
> could result in linear overflows beyond the end of the buffer, leading
> to all kinds of misbehaviors. The safe replacement is strscpy().
>
> Moreover, when the size of the destination buffer cannot be obtained
> using "sizeof", use the memcpy function instead of strscpy.
>
> Reviewed-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>
> Signed-off-by: Len Baker <len.baker@....com>

Drop this patch. It has errors. Sorry for the noise.

Apologies,
Len

Powered by blists - more mailing lists