lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 31 Aug 2021 16:41:00 +0200
From:   Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@...el.com>
To:     linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     "Kristen C Accardi" <kristen.c.accardi@...el.com>,
        Kristen Carlson Accardi <kristen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@...nel.org>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Jessica Yu <jeyu@...nel.org>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Marios Pomonis <pomonis@...gle.com>,
        Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>,
        Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@...nel.org>,
        Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
        Lukasz Czapnik <lukasz.czapnik@...el.com>,
        "Marta A Plantykow" <marta.a.plantykow@...el.com>,
        Michal Kubiak <michal.kubiak@...el.com>,
        Michal Swiatkowski <michal.swiatkowski@...el.com>,
        Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@...el.com>,
        linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org, linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com
Subject: [PATCH v6 kspp-next 08/22] Make sure ORC lookup covers the entire _etext - _stext

From: Kristen Carlson Accardi <kristen@...ux.intel.com>

When using -ffunction-sections to place each function in
it's own text section so it can be randomized at load time, the
linker will place most of the functions into separate .text.*
sections. SIZEOF(.text) won't work here for calculating the ORC
lookup table size, the total text size must be calculated to
include .text AND all .text.*.

Signed-off-by: Kristen Carlson Accardi <kristen@...ux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>
Tested-by: Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>
Reviewed-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
[ alobakin: move it to vmlinux.lds.h and make arch-indep ]
Signed-off-by: Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@...el.com>
---
 include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h b/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h
index 5d6da19b02bc..01fdeb5dd216 100644
--- a/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h
+++ b/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h
@@ -887,10 +887,11 @@
 		KEEP(*(.orc_unwind))					\
 		__stop_orc_unwind = .;					\
 	}								\
+	text_size = _etext - _stext;					\
 	. = ALIGN(4);							\
 	.orc_lookup : AT(ADDR(.orc_lookup) - LOAD_OFFSET) {		\
 		orc_lookup = .;						\
-		. += (((SIZEOF(.text) + LOOKUP_BLOCK_SIZE - 1) /	\
+		. += (((text_size + LOOKUP_BLOCK_SIZE - 1) /		\
 			LOOKUP_BLOCK_SIZE) + 1) * 4;			\
 		orc_lookup_end = .;					\
 	}
-- 
2.31.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists