lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 2 Sep 2021 09:07:42 -0700
From:   Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:     Keith Packard <keithp@...thp.com>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Abbott Liu <liuwenliang@...wei.com>,
        Alexander Sverdlin <alexander.sverdlin@...il.com>,
        Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@....com>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@...nel.org>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>,
        Hartley Sweeten <hsweeten@...ionengravers.com>,
        Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>, Jian Cai <jiancai@...gle.com>,
        Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        Maninder Singh <maninder1.s@...sung.com>,
        Manivannan Sadhasivam <mani@...nel.org>,
        Marc Zyngier <maz@...nel.org>,
        Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@...nel.org>,
        Mike Rapoport <rppt@...nel.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...ogle.com>,
        Nicolas Pitre <nico@...xnic.net>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Uwe Kleine-K├Ânig 
        <u.kleine-koenig@...gutronix.de>,
        Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@....com>,
        Vaneet Narang <v.narang@...sung.com>,
        "Wolfram Sang (Renesas)" <wsa+renesas@...g-engineering.com>,
        YiFei Zhu <yifeifz2@...inois.edu>,
        Keith Packard <keithpac@...zon.com>,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/2]: ARM: Enable THREAD_INFO_IN_TASK

On Thu, Sep 02, 2021 at 08:54:26AM -0700, Keith Packard wrote:
> Placing thread_info in the kernel stack leaves it vulnerable to stack
> overflow attacks. This short series addresses that by using the
> existing THREAD_INFO_IN_TASK infrastructure.

Very cool! Thanks for working on this. If you want, you can refer to the
KSPP bug for this too:
https://github.com/KSPP/linux/issues/1

(Anyone want to do MIPS?)

-Kees

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists