lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 18 Feb 2022 12:08:08 -0800
From:   Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>
To:     Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@...el.com>
Cc:     Miroslav Benes <mbenes@...e.cz>,
        Fāng-ruì Sòng <maskray@...gle.com>,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org, x86@...nel.org,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
        Kristen Carlson Accardi <kristen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Miklos Szeredi <miklos@...redi.hu>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@...nel.org>,
        Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
        Bruce Schlobohm <bruce.schlobohm@...el.com>,
        Jessica Yu <jeyu@...nel.org>,
        kernel test robot <lkp@...el.com>,
        Evgenii Shatokhin <eshatokhin@...tuozzo.com>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@...nel.org>,
        Michal Marek <michal.lkml@...kovi.net>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Marios Pomonis <pomonis@...gle.com>,
        Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>,
        "H.J. Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>, Nicolas Pitre <nico@...xnic.net>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arch@...r.kernel.org, live-patching@...r.kernel.org,
        llvm@...ts.linux.dev
Subject: Re: [PATCH v10 02/15] livepatch: avoid position-based search if `-z
 unique-symbol` is available

On Fri, Feb 18, 2022 at 05:31:11PM +0100, Alexander Lobakin wrote:
> it took 2 minutes to generate the whole map (instead of a split
> second) (on 64-core CPU, but I guess nm runs in one thread).
> I guess it can be optimized? I'm no a binutils master (will take a
> look after sending this), is there a way to do it manually skipping
> this nm lag or maybe make nm emit filenames without such delays?

Hm, yeah, adding 2 minutes to the link time isn't going to fly ;-)  It
probably takes a while to parse all the DWARF.

Based on ther other discussions I think just using the basename (main.o)
in STT_FILE would be good enough.  Some duplicates are probably ok.

-- 
Josh

Powered by blists - more mailing lists