lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 4 May 2022 23:14:42 -0400
From:   Paul Moore <paul@...l-moore.com>
To:     "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>
Cc:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Steffen Klassert <steffen.klassert@...unet.com>,
        Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Stephen Smalley <stephen.smalley.work@...il.com>,
        Eric Paris <eparis@...isplace.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Xiu Jianfeng <xiujianfeng@...wei.com>,
        Christian Göttsche <cgzones@...glemail.com>,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, selinux@...r.kernel.org,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        alsa-devel@...a-project.org, Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Andrew Gabbasov <andrew_gabbasov@...tor.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Andy Gross <agross@...nel.org>,
        Andy Lavr <andy.lavr@...il.com>,
        Arend van Spriel <aspriel@...il.com>,
        Baowen Zheng <baowen.zheng@...igine.com>,
        Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Bradley Grove <linuxdrivers@...otech.com>,
        brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@...adcom.com,
        Christian Brauner <brauner@...nel.org>,
        Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@...glemail.com>,
        Chris Zankel <chris@...kel.net>,
        Cong Wang <cong.wang@...edance.com>,
        Daniel Axtens <dja@...ens.net>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@...ll.ch>,
        Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>,
        David Gow <davidgow@...gle.com>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        Dennis Dalessandro <dennis.dalessandro@...nelisnetworks.com>,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org, Dexuan Cui <decui@...rosoft.com>,
        Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@...il.com>,
        Eli Cohen <elic@...dia.com>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Eugeniu Rosca <erosca@...adit-jv.com>,
        Felipe Balbi <balbi@...nel.org>,
        Francis Laniel <laniel_francis@...vacyrequired.com>,
        Frank Rowand <frowand.list@...il.com>,
        Franky Lin <franky.lin@...adcom.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Gregory Greenman <gregory.greenman@...el.com>,
        Guenter Roeck <linux@...ck-us.net>,
        Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@...rosoft.com>,
        Hante Meuleman <hante.meuleman@...adcom.com>,
        Hulk Robot <hulkci@...wei.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@...ux.ibm.com>,
        James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
        Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko@...nel.org>,
        Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>,
        Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@...pe.ca>, Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>,
        Johan Hedberg <johan.hedberg@...il.com>,
        Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@...el.com>,
        Johannes Berg <johannes@...solutions.net>,
        John Keeping <john@...anate.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>, Kalle Valo <kvalo@...nel.org>,
        Keith Packard <keithp@...thp.com>, keyrings@...r.kernel.org,
        kunit-dev@...glegroups.com,
        Kuniyuki Iwashima <kuniyu@...zon.co.jp>,
        "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@...rosoft.com>,
        Lars-Peter Clausen <lars@...afoo.de>,
        Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>,
        Leon Romanovsky <leon@...nel.org>,
        Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
        linux1394-devel@...ts.sourceforge.net,
        linux-afs@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org, linux-bluetooth@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org, linux-hyperv@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-integrity@...r.kernel.org, linux-rdma@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org, linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-usb@...r.kernel.org, linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-xtensa@...ux-xtensa.org, llvm@...ts.linux.dev,
        Loic Poulain <loic.poulain@...aro.org>,
        Louis Peens <louis.peens@...igine.com>,
        Luca Coelho <luciano.coelho@...el.com>,
        Luiz Augusto von Dentz <luiz.dentz@...il.com>,
        Marc Dionne <marc.dionne@...istor.com>,
        Marcel Holtmann <marcel@...tmann.org>,
        Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
        Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@...il.com>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Muchun Song <songmuchun@...edance.com>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Nuno Sá <nuno.sa@...log.com>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Rich Felker <dalias@...ifal.cx>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>,
        SHA-cyfmac-dev-list@...ineon.com,
        Simon Horman <simon.horman@...igine.com>,
        Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@...nel.org>,
        Stefan Richter <stefanr@...6.in-berlin.de>,
        Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@...rosoft.com>,
        Tadeusz Struk <tadeusz.struk@...aro.org>,
        Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.com>, Tom Rix <trix@...hat.com>,
        Udipto Goswami <quic_ugoswami@...cinc.com>,
        Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@....com>,
        wcn36xx@...ts.infradead.org, Wei Liu <wei.liu@...nel.org>,
        xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org,
        Yang Yingliang <yangyingliang@...wei.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 28/32] selinux: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with xfrm and sidtab

On Wed, May 4, 2022 at 7:34 PM Gustavo A. R. Silva
<gustavoars@...nel.org> wrote:
>
> Hi Paul,
>
> On Wed, May 04, 2022 at 06:57:28PM -0400, Paul Moore wrote:
> > On Tue, May 3, 2022 at 9:57 PM Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
>
> [..]
>
> > > +++ b/include/uapi/linux/xfrm.h
> > > @@ -31,9 +31,9 @@ struct xfrm_id {
> > >  struct xfrm_sec_ctx {
> > >         __u8    ctx_doi;
> > >         __u8    ctx_alg;
> > > -       __u16   ctx_len;
> > > +       __DECLARE_FLEX_ARRAY_ELEMENTS_COUNT(__u16, ctx_len);
> > >         __u32   ctx_sid;
> > > -       char    ctx_str[0];
> > > +       __DECLARE_FLEX_ARRAY_ELEMENTS(char, ctx_str);
> > >  };
> >
> > While I like the idea of this in principle, I'd like to hear about the
> > testing you've done on these patches.  A previous flex array
> > conversion in the audit uapi headers ended up causing a problem with
>
> I'm curious about which commit caused those problems...?

Commit ed98ea2128b6 ("audit: replace zero-length array with
flexible-array member"), however, as I said earlier, the problem was
actually with SWIG, it just happened to be triggered by the kernel
commit.  There was a brief fedora-devel mail thread about the problem,
see the link below:

* https://www.spinics.net/lists/fedora-devel/msg297991.html

To reiterate, I'm supportive of changes like this, but I would like to
hear how it was tested to ensure there are no unexpected problems with
userspace.  If there are userspace problems it doesn't mean we can't
make changes like this, it just means we need to ensure that the
userspace issues are resolved first.

-- 
paul-moore.com

Powered by blists - more mailing lists