lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 13 Jun 2022 10:04:12 -0700
From:   Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:     Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>, x86@...nel.org,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Joao Moreira <joao@...rdrivepizza.com>,
        Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@...il.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, llvm@...ts.linux.dev
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH v3 00/20] KCFI support

On Fri, Jun 10, 2022 at 04:34:53PM -0700, Sami Tolvanen wrote:
> KCFI is a proposed forward-edge control-flow integrity scheme for
> Clang, which is more suitable for kernel use than the existing CFI
> scheme used by CONFIG_CFI_CLANG. KCFI doesn't require LTO, doesn't
> alter function references to point to a jump table, and won't break
> function address equality. The latest LLVM patch is here:
> 
>   https://reviews.llvm.org/D119296
> 
> This RFC series replaces the current arm64 CFI implementation with
> KCFI and adds support for x86_64.

I think the "RFC" prefix for this series can be dropped. :)

It looks to me like all of Peter's concerns have been addressed. I'd say
let's get the Clang side landed, and once that's done, land this via x86
-tip?

Peter and Will does this sound right to you? It touches arm64, so if
-tip isn't okay, I could take it in one of my trees?

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists