lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 21 Sep 2022 22:26:27 -0700
From:   Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:     Kalle Valo <kvalo@...nel.org>
Cc:     Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Gregory Greenman <gregory.greenman@...el.com>,
        Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@...el.com>,
        linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>,
        David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
        Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Alex Elder <elder@...nel.org>,
        Josef Bacik <josef@...icpanda.com>,
        David Sterba <dsterba@...e.com>,
        Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>,
        Christian K├Ânig <christian.koenig@....com>,
        Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
        Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
        Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>, Marco Elver <elver@...gle.com>,
        Miguel Ojeda <ojeda@...nel.org>,
        Jacob Shin <jacob.shin@....com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-mm@...ck.org, linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-media@...r.kernel.org, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        linaro-mm-sig@...ts.linaro.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        intel-wired-lan@...ts.osuosl.org, dev@...nvswitch.org,
        x86@...nel.org, llvm@...ts.linux.dev,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 10/12] iwlwifi: Track scan_cmd allocation size explicitly

On Thu, Sep 22, 2022 at 07:18:51AM +0300, Kalle Valo wrote:
> Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> writes:
> 
> > In preparation for reducing the use of ksize(), explicitly track the
> > size of scan_cmd allocations. This also allows for noticing if the scan
> > size changes unexpectedly. Note that using ksize() was already incorrect
> > here, in the sense that ksize() would not match the actual allocation
> > size, which would trigger future run-time allocation bounds checking.
> > (In other words, memset() may know how large scan_cmd was allocated for,
> > but ksize() will return the upper bounds of the actually allocated memory,
> > causing a run-time warning about an overflow.)
> >
> > Cc: Gregory Greenman <gregory.greenman@...el.com>
> > Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@...nel.org>
> > Cc: Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@...el.com>
> > Cc: linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org
> > Cc: netdev@...r.kernel.org
> > Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
> 
> Via which tree is this iwlwifi patch going? Normally via wireless-next
> or something else?

This doesn't depend on the kmalloc_size_roundup() helper at all, so I
would be happy for it to go via wireless-next if the patch seems
reasonable.

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists