lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 23 Sep 2022 13:28:22 -0700
From:   Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:     Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>
Cc:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
        Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>,
        David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
        Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Roman Gushchin <roman.gushchin@...ux.dev>,
        Hyeonggon Yoo <42.hyeyoo@...il.com>, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        "Ruhl, Michael J" <michael.j.ruhl@...el.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Alex Elder <elder@...nel.org>,
        Josef Bacik <josef@...icpanda.com>,
        David Sterba <dsterba@...e.com>,
        Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>,
        Christian K├Ânig <christian.koenig@....com>,
        Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
        Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
        Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>, Marco Elver <elver@...gle.com>,
        Miguel Ojeda <ojeda@...nel.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-media@...r.kernel.org, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        linaro-mm-sig@...ts.linaro.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        intel-wired-lan@...ts.osuosl.org, dev@...nvswitch.org,
        x86@...nel.org, llvm@...ts.linux.dev,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v2 16/16] slab: Restore __alloc_size attribute to __kmalloc_track_caller

With skbuff's post-allocation use of ksize() rearranged to use
kmalloc_size_round() prior to allocation, the compiler can correctly
reason about the size of these allocations. The prior mismatch had caused
buffer overflow mitigations to erroneously fire under CONFIG_UBSAN_BOUNDS,
requiring a partial revert of the __alloc_size attributes. Restore the
attribute that had been removed in commit 93dd04ab0b2b ("slab: remove
__alloc_size attribute from __kmalloc_track_caller").

Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>
Cc: Roman Gushchin <roman.gushchin@...ux.dev>
Cc: Hyeonggon Yoo <42.hyeyoo@...il.com>
Cc: linux-mm@...ck.org
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
---
 include/linux/slab.h | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/slab.h b/include/linux/slab.h
index 727640173568..297b85ed2c29 100644
--- a/include/linux/slab.h
+++ b/include/linux/slab.h
@@ -693,7 +693,8 @@ static inline __alloc_size(1, 2) void *kcalloc(size_t n, size_t size, gfp_t flag
  * allocator where we care about the real place the memory allocation
  * request comes from.
  */
-extern void *__kmalloc_track_caller(size_t size, gfp_t flags, unsigned long caller);
+extern void *__kmalloc_track_caller(size_t size, gfp_t flags, unsigned long caller)
+				   __alloc_size(1);
 #define kmalloc_track_caller(size, flags) \
 	__kmalloc_track_caller(size, flags, _RET_IP_)
 
-- 
2.34.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists