lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 4 Oct 2023 07:13:00 +0200
From: Louis Peens <louis.peens@...igine.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: Simon Horman <horms@...nel.org>,
	Simon Horman <simon.horman@...igine.com>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
	oss-drivers@...igine.com, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	"Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>,
	Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
	Tom Rix <trix@...hat.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org, llvm@...ts.linux.dev
Subject: Re: [PATCH] nfp: Annotate struct nfp_reprs with __counted_by

On Tue, Oct 03, 2023 at 04:18:43PM -0700, Kees Cook wrote:
> Prepare for the coming implementation by GCC and Clang of the __counted_by
> attribute. Flexible array members annotated with __counted_by can have
> their accesses bounds-checked at run-time via CONFIG_UBSAN_BOUNDS (for
> array indexing) and CONFIG_FORTIFY_SOURCE (for strcpy/memcpy-family
> functions).
> 
> As found with Coccinelle[1], add __counted_by for struct nfp_reprs.
> 
> Cc: Simon Horman <simon.horman@...igine.com>
> Cc: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
> Cc: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>
> Cc: Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>
> Cc: oss-drivers@...igine.com
> Cc: netdev@...r.kernel.org
> Link: https://github.com/kees/kernel-tools/blob/trunk/coccinelle/examples/counted_by.cocci [1]
> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Thanks Kees

Acked-by: Louis Peens <louis.peens@...igine.com>
> ---
>  drivers/net/ethernet/netronome/nfp/nfp_net_repr.h | 2 +-
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/netronome/nfp/nfp_net_repr.h b/drivers/net/ethernet/netronome/nfp/nfp_net_repr.h
> index 48a74accbbd3..77bf4198dbde 100644
> --- a/drivers/net/ethernet/netronome/nfp/nfp_net_repr.h
> +++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/netronome/nfp/nfp_net_repr.h
> @@ -18,7 +18,7 @@ struct nfp_port;
>   */
>  struct nfp_reprs {
>  	unsigned int num_reprs;
> -	struct net_device __rcu *reprs[];
> +	struct net_device __rcu *reprs[] __counted_by(num_reprs);
>  };
>  
>  /**
> -- 
> 2.34.1
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists