lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 5 Oct 2023 11:42:38 +0200
From: Christian König <ckoenig.leichtzumerken@...il.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
 Christian König <christian.koenig@....com>
Cc: Alex Deucher <alexdeucher@...il.com>, David Airlie <airlied@...il.com>,
 "Pan, Xinhui" <Xinhui.Pan@....com>, Karol Herbst <kherbst@...hat.com>,
 Tom Rix <trix@...hat.com>, Joonas Lahtinen
 <joonas.lahtinen@...ux.intel.com>, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
 Chris Wilson <chris@...is-wilson.co.uk>, Prike Liang <Prike.Liang@....com>,
 Huang Rui <ray.huang@....com>, Gerd Hoffmann <kraxel@...hat.com>,
 Andrzej Hajda <andrzej.hajda@...el.com>,
 Marijn Suijten <marijn.suijten@...ainline.org>,
 Matthew Brost <matthew.brost@...el.com>, Evan Quan <evan.quan@....com>,
 Emma Anholt <emma@...olt.net>, amd-gfx@...ts.freedesktop.org,
 Kuogee Hsieh <quic_khsieh@...cinc.com>, Lijo Lazar <lijo.lazar@....com>,
 VMware Graphics Reviewers <linux-graphics-maintainer@...are.com>,
 Ben Skeggs <bskeggs@...hat.com>, Andi Shyti <andi.shyti@...ux.intel.com>,
 nouveau@...ts.freedesktop.org, David Airlie <airlied@...hat.com>,
 Dmitry Baryshkov <dmitry.baryshkov@...aro.org>, Chia-I Wu
 <olvaffe@...il.com>, llvm@...ts.linux.dev, Yifan Zhang
 <yifan1.zhang@....com>, linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org,
 intel-gfx@...ts.freedesktop.org, Kevin Wang <kevin1.wang@....com>,
 Abhinav Kumar <quic_abhinavk@...cinc.com>,
 Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@...ux.intel.com>,
 Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@...ux.intel.com>,
 Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>, Le Ma <le.ma@....com>,
 Gurchetan Singh <gurchetansingh@...omium.org>,
 Maxime Ripard <mripard@...nel.org>, Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@...el.com>,
 virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org, Sean Paul <sean@...rly.run>,
 Neil Armstrong <neil.armstrong@...aro.org>, Xiaojian Du
 <Xiaojian.Du@....com>, Lang Yu <Lang.Yu@....com>,
 Bjorn Andersson <andersson@...nel.org>,
 Tejas Upadhyay <tejas.upadhyay@...el.com>,
 Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
 Hawking Zhang <Hawking.Zhang@....com>, Rob Clark <robdclark@...il.com>,
 Melissa Wen <mwen@...lia.com>, John Harrison <john.c.harrison@...el.com>,
 Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>, Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@....com>,
 Nirmoy Das <nirmoy.das@...el.com>, freedreno@...ts.freedesktop.org,
 Zack Rusin <zackr@...are.com>, linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/9] drm: Annotate structs with __counted_by

Am 02.10.23 um 20:22 schrieb Kees Cook:
> On Mon, Oct 02, 2023 at 08:11:41PM +0200, Christian König wrote:
>> Am 02.10.23 um 20:08 schrieb Kees Cook:
>>> On Mon, Oct 02, 2023 at 08:01:57PM +0200, Christian König wrote:
>>>> Am 02.10.23 um 18:53 schrieb Kees Cook:
>>>>> On Mon, Oct 02, 2023 at 11:06:19AM -0400, Alex Deucher wrote:
>>>>>> On Mon, Oct 2, 2023 at 5:20 AM Christian König
>>>>>> <ckoenig.leichtzumerken@...il.com> wrote:
>>>>>>> Am 29.09.23 um 21:33 schrieb Kees Cook:
>>>>>>>> On Fri, 22 Sep 2023 10:32:05 -0700, Kees Cook wrote:
>>>>>>>>> This is a batch of patches touching drm for preparing for the coming
>>>>>>>>> implementation by GCC and Clang of the __counted_by attribute. Flexible
>>>>>>>>> array members annotated with __counted_by can have their accesses
>>>>>>>>> bounds-checked at run-time checking via CONFIG_UBSAN_BOUNDS (for array
>>>>>>>>> indexing) and CONFIG_FORTIFY_SOURCE (for strcpy/memcpy-family functions).
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>> As found with Coccinelle[1], add __counted_by to structs that would
>>>>>>>>> benefit from the annotation.
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>> [...]
>>>>>>>> Since this got Acks, I figure I should carry it in my tree. Let me know
>>>>>>>> if this should go via drm instead.
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> Applied to for-next/hardening, thanks!
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> [1/9] drm/amd/pm: Annotate struct smu10_voltage_dependency_table with __counted_by
>>>>>>>>           https://git.kernel.org/kees/c/a6046ac659d6
>>>>>>> STOP! In a follow up discussion Alex and I figured out that this won't work.
>>>>> I'm so confused; from the discussion I saw that Alex said both instances
>>>>> were false positives?
>>>>>
>>>>>>> The value in the structure is byte swapped based on some firmware
>>>>>>> endianness which not necessary matches the CPU endianness.
>>>>>> SMU10 is APU only so the endianess of the SMU firmware and the CPU
>>>>>> will always match.
>>>>> Which I think is what is being said here?
>>>>>
>>>>>>> Please revert that one from going upstream if it's already on it's way.
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> And because of those reasons I strongly think that patches like this
>>>>>>> should go through the DRM tree :)
>>>>> Sure, that's fine -- please let me know. It was others Acked/etc. Who
>>>>> should carry these patches?
>>>> Probably best if the relevant maintainer pick them up individually.
>>>>
>>>> Some of those structures are filled in by firmware/hardware and only the
>>>> maintainers can judge if that value actually matches what the compiler
>>>> needs.
>>>>
>>>> We have cases where individual bits are used as flags or when the size is
>>>> byte swapped etc...
>>>>
>>>> Even Alex and I didn't immediately say how and where that field is actually
>>>> used and had to dig that up. That's where the confusion came from.
>>> Okay, I've dropped them all from my tree. Several had Acks/Reviews, so
>>> hopefully those can get picked up for the DRM tree?
>> I will pick those up to go through drm-misc-next.
>>
>> Going to ping maintainers once more when I'm not sure if stuff is correct or
>> not.
> Sounds great; thanks!

I wasn't 100% sure for the VC4 patch, but pushed the whole set to 
drm-misc-next anyway.

This also means that the patches are now auto merged into the drm-tip 
integration branch and should any build or unit test go boom we should 
notice immediately and can revert it pretty easily.

Thanks,
Christian.

>
> -Kees
>


Powered by blists - more mailing lists