lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 6 Oct 2023 13:21:13 -0700
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Felix Fietkau <nbd@....name>, Kalle Valo <kvalo@...nel.org>
Cc: Lorenzo Bianconi <lorenzo@...nel.org>,
	Ryder Lee <ryder.lee@...iatek.com>,
	Shayne Chen <shayne.chen@...iatek.com>,
	Sean Wang <sean.wang@...iatek.com>,
	Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
	AngeloGioacchino Del Regno <angelogioacchino.delregno@...labora.com>,
	linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org,
	Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
	Tom Rix <trix@...hat.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	llvm@...ts.linux.dev, linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] wifi: mt76: Annotate struct mt76_rx_tid with __counted_by

On Fri, Sep 15, 2023 at 01:06:12PM -0700, Kees Cook wrote:
> Prepare for the coming implementation by GCC and Clang of the __counted_by
> attribute. Flexible array members annotated with __counted_by can have
> their accesses bounds-checked at run-time checking via CONFIG_UBSAN_BOUNDS
> (for array indexing) and CONFIG_FORTIFY_SOURCE (for strcpy/memcpy-family
> functions).
> 
> As found with Coccinelle[1], add __counted_by for struct mt76_rx_tid.

Friendly ping. Can this get picked up by the wifi tree, or should it go
via something else?

Thanks!

-Kees

> 
> [1] https://github.com/kees/kernel-tools/blob/trunk/coccinelle/examples/counted_by.cocci
> 
> Cc: Felix Fietkau <nbd@....name>
> Cc: Lorenzo Bianconi <lorenzo@...nel.org>
> Cc: Ryder Lee <ryder.lee@...iatek.com>
> Cc: Shayne Chen <shayne.chen@...iatek.com>
> Cc: Sean Wang <sean.wang@...iatek.com>
> Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@...nel.org>
> Cc: Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>
> Cc: AngeloGioacchino Del Regno <angelogioacchino.delregno@...labora.com>
> Cc: linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org
> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
> ---
>  drivers/net/wireless/mediatek/mt76/mt76.h | 2 +-
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/net/wireless/mediatek/mt76/mt76.h b/drivers/net/wireless/mediatek/mt76/mt76.h
> index e8757865a3d0..03ef617b1527 100644
> --- a/drivers/net/wireless/mediatek/mt76/mt76.h
> +++ b/drivers/net/wireless/mediatek/mt76/mt76.h
> @@ -376,7 +376,7 @@ struct mt76_rx_tid {
>  
>  	u8 started:1, stopped:1, timer_pending:1;
>  
> -	struct sk_buff *reorder_buf[];
> +	struct sk_buff *reorder_buf[] __counted_by(size);
>  };
>  
>  #define MT_TX_CB_DMA_DONE		BIT(0)
> -- 
> 2.34.1
> 

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists