lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 6 Oct 2023 22:48:59 +0200
From: "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavo@...eddedor.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
 Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@....at>, Vignesh Raghavendra
 <vigneshr@...com>, Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
 AngeloGioacchino Del Regno <angelogioacchino.delregno@...labora.com>,
 "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>,
 Heiko Stuebner <heiko@...ech.de>,
 Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@...glemail.com>,
 Thierry Reding <treding@...dia.com>, Roger Quadros <rogerq@...nel.org>,
 Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@...gutronix.de>,
 Cai Huoqing <cai.huoqing@...ux.dev>, Chuanhong Guo <gch981213@...il.com>,
 Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>, Li Zetao <lizetao1@...wei.com>,
 linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
 linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org, linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org,
 Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
 Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>, Tom Rix <trix@...hat.com>,
 linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, llvm@...ts.linux.dev
Subject: Re: [PATCH] mtd: rawnand: Annotate struct mtk_nfc_nand_chip with
 __counted_by



On 10/6/23 22:17, Kees Cook wrote:
> Prepare for the coming implementation by GCC and Clang of the __counted_by
> attribute. Flexible array members annotated with __counted_by can have
> their accesses bounds-checked at run-time via CONFIG_UBSAN_BOUNDS (for
> array indexing) and CONFIG_FORTIFY_SOURCE (for strcpy/memcpy-family
> functions).
> 
> As found with Coccinelle[1], add __counted_by for struct
> mtk_nfc_nand_chip.
> 
> Cc: Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>
> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@....at>
> Cc: Vignesh Raghavendra <vigneshr@...com>
> Cc: Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>
> Cc: AngeloGioacchino Del Regno <angelogioacchino.delregno@...labora.com>
> Cc: "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>
> Cc: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@...ech.de>
> Cc: Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@...glemail.com>
> Cc: Thierry Reding <treding@...dia.com>
> Cc: Roger Quadros <rogerq@...nel.org>
> Cc: "Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@...gutronix.de>
> Cc: Cai Huoqing <cai.huoqing@...ux.dev>
> Cc: Chuanhong Guo <gch981213@...il.com>
> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>
> Cc: Li Zetao <lizetao1@...wei.com>
> Cc: linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
> Link: https://github.com/kees/kernel-tools/blob/trunk/coccinelle/examples/counted_by.cocci [1]
> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>

Reviewed-by: Gustavo A. R. Silva <gustavoars@...nel.org>

Thanks!
-- 
Gustavo

> ---
>   drivers/mtd/nand/raw/mtk_nand.c | 2 +-
>   1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/mtd/nand/raw/mtk_nand.c b/drivers/mtd/nand/raw/mtk_nand.c
> index 29c8bddde67f..60198e33d2d5 100644
> --- a/drivers/mtd/nand/raw/mtk_nand.c
> +++ b/drivers/mtd/nand/raw/mtk_nand.c
> @@ -130,7 +130,7 @@ struct mtk_nfc_nand_chip {
>   	u32 spare_per_sector;
>   
>   	int nsels;
> -	u8 sels[];
> +	u8 sels[] __counted_by(nsels);
>   	/* nothing after this field */
>   };
>   

Powered by blists - more mailing lists