lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 9 Oct 2023 13:33:32 -0700
From: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
To: Justin Stitt <justinstitt@...gle.com>, Arınç ÜNAL
 <arinc.unal@...nc9.com>, Daniel Golle <daniel@...rotopia.org>,
 Landen Chao <Landen.Chao@...iatek.com>, DENG Qingfang <dqfext@...il.com>,
 Sean Wang <sean.wang@...iatek.com>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
 Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>, "David S. Miller"
 <davem@...emloft.net>, Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
 Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
 Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
 AngeloGioacchino Del Regno <angelogioacchino.delregno@...labora.com>
Cc: netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org,
 linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] net: dsa: mt7530: replace deprecated strncpy with
 ethtool_sprintf

On 10/9/23 11:29, Justin Stitt wrote:
> `strncpy` is deprecated for use on NUL-terminated destination strings
> [1] and as such we should prefer more robust and less ambiguous string
> interfaces.
> 
> ethtool_sprintf() is designed specifically for get_strings() usage.
> Let's replace strncpy in favor of this more robust and easier to
> understand interface.
> 
> Link: https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/process/deprecated.html#strncpy-on-nul-terminated-strings [1]
> Link: https://manpages.debian.org/testing/linux-manual-4.8/strscpy.9.en.html [2]
> Link: https://github.com/KSPP/linux/issues/90
> Cc: linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Justin Stitt <justinstitt@...gle.com>

Reviewed-by: Florian Fainelli <florian.fainelli@...adcom.com>
-- 
Florian


Powered by blists - more mailing lists