lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 24 Nov 2023 10:26:35 +0100
From: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>
To: David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>, Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>,
 Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>,
 Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
 Hyeonggon Yoo <42.hyeyoo@...il.com>,
 Roman Gushchin <roman.gushchin@...ux.dev>,
 Andrey Ryabinin <ryabinin.a.a@...il.com>,
 Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
 Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...il.com>, Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
 Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@....com>, Marco Elver
 <elver@...gle.com>, Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
 Michal Hocko <mhocko@...nel.org>, Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@...gle.com>,
 Muchun Song <muchun.song@...ux.dev>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
 linux-mm@...ck.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
 kasan-dev@...glegroups.com, cgroups@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org, Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 00/21] remove the SLAB allocator

On 11/24/23 01:45, David Rientjes wrote:
> On Mon, 20 Nov 2023, Vlastimil Babka wrote:
> 
>> Changes from v1:
>> - Added new Patch 01 to fix up kernel docs build (thanks Marco Elver)
>> - Additional changes to Kconfig user visible texts in Patch 02 (thanks Kees
>>   Cook)
>> - Whitespace fixes and other fixups (thanks Kees)
>> 
>> The SLAB allocator has been deprecated since 6.5 and nobody has objected
>> so far. As we agreed at LSF/MM, we should wait with the removal until
>> the next LTS kernel is released. This is now determined to be 6.6, and
>> we just missed 6.7, so now we can aim for 6.8 and start exposing the
>> removal to linux-next during the 6.7 cycle. If nothing substantial pops
>> up, will start including this in slab-next later this week.
>> 
> 
> I agree with the decision to remove the SLAB allocator, same as at LSF/MM.  
> Thanks for doing this, Vlastimil!
> 
> And thanks for deferring this until the next LTS kernel, it will give any 
> last minute hold outs a full year to raise any issues in their switch to 
> SLUB if they only only upgrade to LTS kernels at which point we'll have 
> done our due diligence to make people aware of SLAB's deprecation in 6.6.
> 
> I've completed testing on v1 of the series, so feel free to add
> 
> Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>
> Tested-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>

Thanks! And others too.

I've now pushed this series to slab/for-6.8/slab-removal and slab/for-next



Powered by blists - more mailing lists