lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 26 Oct 2009 10:11:29 +0900 (JST)
From:	KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@...fujitsu.com>
To:	Mel Gorman <mel@....ul.ie>
Cc:	kosaki.motohiro@...fujitsu.com, Frans Pop <elendil@...net.nl>,
	Jiri Kosina <jkosina@...e.cz>,
	Sven Geggus <lists@...hsschwanzdomain.de>,
	Karol Lewandowski <karol.k.lewandowski@...il.com>,
	Tobias Oetiker <tobi@...iker.ch>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...k.pl>,
	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Reinette Chatre <reinette.chatre@...el.com>,
	Kalle Valo <kalle.valo@....fi>,
	David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
	Mohamed Abbas <mohamed.abbas@...el.com>,
	Jens Axboe <jens.axboe@...cle.com>,
	"John W. Linville" <linville@...driver.com>,
	Pekka Enberg <penberg@...helsinki.fi>,
	Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@...il.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...e.de>,
	Stephan von Krawczynski <skraw@...net.com>,
	Kernel Testers List <kernel-testers@...r.kernel.org>,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	"linux-mm@...ck.org\"" <linux-mm@...ck.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/5] page allocator: Always wake kswapd when restarting an allocation attempt after direct reclaim failed

> If a direct reclaim makes no forward progress, it considers whether it
> should go OOM or not. Whether OOM is triggered or not, it may retry the
> application afterwards. In times past, this would always wake kswapd as well
> but currently, kswapd is not woken up after direct reclaim fails. For order-0
> allocations, this makes little difference but if there is a heavy mix of
> higher-order allocations that direct reclaim is failing for, it might mean
> that kswapd is not rewoken for higher orders as much as it did previously.
> 
> This patch wakes up kswapd when an allocation is being retried after a direct
> reclaim failure. It would be expected that kswapd is already awake, but
> this has the effect of telling kswapd to reclaim at the higher order as well.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mel@....ul.ie>
> ---
>  mm/page_alloc.c |    2 +-
>  1 files changed, 1 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
> index bf72055..dfa4362 100644
> --- a/mm/page_alloc.c
> +++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
> @@ -1817,9 +1817,9 @@ __alloc_pages_slowpath(gfp_t gfp_mask, unsigned int order,
>  	if (NUMA_BUILD && (gfp_mask & GFP_THISNODE) == GFP_THISNODE)
>  		goto nopage;
>  
> +restart:
>  	wake_all_kswapd(order, zonelist, high_zoneidx);
>  
> -restart:
>  	/*
>  	 * OK, we're below the kswapd watermark and have kicked background
>  	 * reclaim. Now things get more complex, so set up alloc_flags according

I think this patch is correct. personally, I like to add some commnent
at restart label. but it isn't big matter.
	Reviewed-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@...fujitsu.com>

However, I have a question. __alloc_pages_slowpath() retry logic is,

1. try_to_free_pages() reclaimed some pages:
	-> wait awhile and goto rebalance
2. try_to_free_pages() didn't reclaimed any page:
	-> call out_of_memory() and goto restart

Then, case-1 should be fixed too? 
I mean,

diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
index bf72055..5a27896 100644
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c
+++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -1899,6 +1899,12 @@ rebalance:
 	if (should_alloc_retry(gfp_mask, order, pages_reclaimed)) {
 		/* Wait for some write requests to complete then retry */
 		congestion_wait(BLK_RW_ASYNC, HZ/50);
+
+		/*
+		 * While we wait congestion wait, Amount of free memory can
+		 * be changed dramatically. Thus, we kick kswapd again.
+		 */
+		wake_all_kswapd(order, zonelist, high_zoneidx);
 		goto rebalance;
 	}
 
-------------------------------------------

?



--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists