lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Tue, 5 Oct 2010 18:08:22 +0200
From:	Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>
To:	Greg KH <gregkh@...e.de>
Cc:	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...k.pl>,
	Anisse Astier <anisse@...ier.eu>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Kernel Testers List <kernel-testers@...r.kernel.org>,
	Maciej Rutecki <maciej.rutecki@...il.com>,
	Florian Mickler <florian@...kler.org>,
	Eric Anholt <eric@...olt.net>,
	Tim Gardner <tim.gardner@...onical.com>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@...ll.ch>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@...tuousgeek.org>,
	Chris Wilson <chris@...is-wilson.co.uk>
Subject: Re: [Bug #16891] Kernel panic while loading intel module during
 boot

On Tue, Oct 05, 2010 at 06:28:29AM -0700, Greg KH wrote:
> On Tue, Oct 05, 2010 at 12:40:59AM +0200, Rafael J. Wysocki wrote:
> > On Monday, October 04, 2010, Anisse Astier wrote:
> > > Also this patch is new and didn't see much testing (I tested on 4
> > > different Intel GPUs, belonging only to 2 different families); if it's
> > > not merged for 2.6.36, it won't be for 2.6.37 (the new code will land
> > > first). If that happens, it might not meet conditions to be accepted
> > > in -stable (being in linus' tree first).
> > 
> > It's a panic fix, so I think it is -stable material anyway.  Greg?
> 
> That sounds good, please cc: stable@...nel.org with the proper
> information for this (git commit id, patch info, etc.)

I'll do that as soon as drm-intel-next has hit -linus. I've written the
original fix and marked it cc: stable so it won't get lost. I've been
rather cautious with pushing this because it's the 3rd trial to fix a bug
in late .35-rc. The previous fixes already caused regressions in -stable
and I'd simply like to avoid causing yet another regression over the same
problem.

Yours, Daniel
-- 
Daniel Vetter
Mail: daniel@...ll.ch
Mobile: +41 (0)79 365 57 48
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists