lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Wed, 17 Nov 2010 13:13:40 -0500
From:	Ted Ts'o <tytso@....edu>
To:	Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@...il.com>
Cc:	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...e.hu>,
	Darren Hart <dvhart@...ux.intel.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Arjan van de Ven <arjan@...radead.org>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...hat.com>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@...achi.com>,
	Tom Zanussi <tzanussi@...il.com>,
	Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
	Li Zefan <lizf@...fujitsu.com>,
	Jason Baron <jbaron@...hat.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>,
	Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>,
	Lai Jiangshan <laijs@...fujitsu.com>,
	Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [ANNOUNCE] New utility: 'trace'

On Wed, Nov 17, 2010 at 03:10:33PM +0100, Frederic Weisbecker wrote:
> Yeah I have a strange workflow. I'm working on that CPU isolation thing
> and I have dozens of trace_printk all over the place for tons of
> things. And everytime I remove one to unwind some output or to focus
> on another one, I often have to restore it later because I need it
> again. Usually I even just comment it out instead of removing it.

What I do for my file system development work is to drop in
trace_printk's everywhere, since they are lightweight and don't slow
down the system much.  Then when the system wedges, I use sysrq-z to
get a "flight data recorder" printout of what happened up til the
system hung.

I love the fact that the ring buffer is in "overwrite" mode (aka
flight data recorder mode), and hope this doesn't go away.

Per line filtering is also great, but very often when I'm interacting
with the block I/O layer, if something screws up, what happens is "and
then whole machine locks up", and sysrq-z is literally all I have. 

     	   	   	      	  	     - Ted
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists