lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Wed, 19 Dec 2012 20:42:50 +0000
From:	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...retlab.ca>
To:	Simon Glass <sjg@...omium.org>
Cc:	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Samuel Ortiz <sameo@...ux.intel.com>,
	Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@...omium.org>,
	Vincent Palatin <vpalatin@...omium.org>,
	Rob Herring <rob.herring@...xeda.com>,
	Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>,
	Sourav Poddar <sourav.poddar@...com>,
	Felipe Balbi <balbi@...com>, Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>,
	Roland Stigge <stigge@...com.de>,
	Wolfram Sang <w.sang@...gutronix.de>,
	Devicetree Discuss <devicetree-discuss@...ts.ozlabs.org>,
	"linux-doc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linux-input@...r.kernel.org" <linux-input@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 5/5] Input: Add ChromeOS EC keyboard driver

On Wed, Dec 19, 2012 at 8:20 PM, Simon Glass <sjg@...omium.org> wrote:
> On Wed, Dec 19, 2012 at 10:16 AM, Dmitry Torokhov
> <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com> wrote:
>>
>> On Wed, Dec 19, 2012 at 12:57:22PM +0000, Grant Likely wrote:
>> > On Fri, 14 Dec 2012 17:43:31 -0800, Dmitry Torokhov
>> > <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com> wrote:
>> > > On Saturday, December 15, 2012 01:13:45 AM Grant Likely wrote:
>> > > > > +Required properties:
>> > > > > +- compatible: "google,cros-ec-keyb"
>> > > > > +- google,key-rows: Number of keyboard rows (must be <= 8)
>> > > > > +- google,key-columns: Number of keyboard columns (must be <= 13)
>> > > > > +- google,repeat-delay-ms: Key repeat delay in milliseconds
>> > > > > +- google,repeat-rate-ms: Key repeat rate in milliseconds
>> > > >
>> > > > Hmmm, these should probably be in a common binding. Take a look at
>> > > > the other input bindings and make a proposal for properties to add
>> > > > to
>> > > > matrix-keymap.txt.
>> > >
>> > > Actually these are not essentia for bringup and can be set from
>> > > userspace,
>> > > so I'd say simply drop them.
>> >
>> > Aren't they needed for a working keyboard? If so, I would really think
>> > they should be set correctly without userspace intervention.
>>
>> I am sorry if I was unclear, but I was actually talking about the last
>> 2: repeat-delay-ms and repeat-rate-ms. Input core has I believe sane
>> defaults (250 msec delay, 33 cps autorepeat) and user can adjust if
>> other rate is preferred.
>
>
> I seems like I should remove these two, then.
>
> It would be nice if we could keep these parameters so that the keyboard
> doesn't require user-space set up to work, but I understand and agree they
> are not essential. Regarding Grant's request to come up with a common
> binding, if I remove these then that is not needed, right?

I have no problem keeping the properties, but it does look like
something applicable to all users, not just this driver.

g.
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists