lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Fri, 4 Jan 2013 01:12:42 +0200
From:	Alexey Zaytsev <alexey.zaytsev@...il.com>
To:	Chris Wilson <chris@...is-wilson.co.uk>
Cc:	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@...ll.ch>,
	Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@...tuousgeek.org>,
	Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@...il.com>,
	Peter Ujfalusi <peter.ujfalusi@...il.com>,
	stable <stable@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: Linux 3.8-rc2

On Fri, Jan 4, 2013 at 12:45 AM, Chris Wilson <chris@...is-wilson.co.uk> wrote:
> On Thu, 3 Jan 2013 13:32:04 -0800, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org> wrote:
>> On Thu, Jan 3, 2013 at 1:09 PM, Alexey Zaytsev <alexey.zaytsev@...il.com> wrote:
>> >
>> > i915 got broken on my machine (Lenovo ThinkPad SL500) by this -rc. The screen
>> > goes blank after loading the module. I've bisected the problem to
>> > b0a2658acb5bf9ca86b4aab011b7106de3af0add "drm/i915: don't disable
>> > disconnected outputs".
>>
>> Hmm. Daniel - should I just revert it, or do you have a patch to
>> possibly fix the divide-by-zero error in g4x_compute_wm0() (which may
>> involve not getting that deep in the call chain to begin with or
>> whatever)? Maybe that fixes the blank screen too without a revert..
>
> The issue appears to be a disagreement between intel_crtc->active, an
> attached framebuffer and there not being a valid mode set on the crtc.
>
> It looks like we end up in that situation with further confusion over
> intel_crtc->base.enabled vs intel_crtc->active. I suspect the answer is
> something like:
>

Chris: The patch does not seem to have any effect on the problem.

Peter: I've attached the dmesgs, as well as the diff between the
interesting parts. The patch does not seem to make any difference
there.

Download attachment "dmesg-working.gz" of type "application/x-gzip" (20278 bytes)

Download attachment "dmesg-broken.gz" of type "application/x-gzip" (20195 bytes)

Download attachment "dmesg-broken-patched.gz" of type "application/x-gzip" (20285 bytes)

Download attachment "dmesg-working-broken.diff" of type "application/octet-stream" (28051 bytes)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists