lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Sun, 22 Dec 2013 11:22:06 +0100
From:	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
To:	Ivajlo Dimitrov <ivo.g.dimitrov.75@...il.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
	Shubhrajyoti Datta <omaplinuxkernel@...il.com>,
	Carlos Chinea <cch.devel@...il.com>,
	Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>,
	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>,
	Rob Herring <rob.herring@...xeda.com>,
	Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@....com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Stephen Warren <swarren@...dotorg.org>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@...lion.org.uk>,
	Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>,
	Benoît Cousson <bcousson@...libre.com>,
	"devicetree@...r.kernel.org" <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linux-OMAP <linux-omap@...r.kernel.org>,
	Pali Rohár <pali.rohar@...il.com>,
	Ивайло Димитров <freemangordon@....bg>,
	Joni Lapilainen <joni.lapilainen@...il.com>,
	Aaro Koskinen <aaro.koskinen@....fi>,
	"pavel@....cz" <pavel@....cz>
Subject: Re: Re: [RFCv4 06/11] misc: Introduce Nokia CMT driver

On Wed, Dec 18, 2013 at 12:25 AM, Sebastian Reichel <sre@...g0.de> wrote:

> I had a look at both ofono's and freesmartphone.org's implementation
> for the GPIO handling and both implementations are very similar. I
> think it should be possible to move the state machine described in
> [0] into the kernel and provide a simple sysfs/uevent interface.
>
> I was thinking of something like /sys/devices/platform/nokia-cmt/state,
> which accepts "enable", "disable" and "reset" as input and outputs the
> current state.
>
> [0] https://git.kernel.org/cgit/network/ofono/ofono.git/tree/plugins/nokia-gpio.c

Yes this looks like kernel code shoehorned into userspace. As it
deals with suspending/resuming hardware for example, and that is
something the kernel needs to coordinate and do uniformly across
all devices (IMO).

A while back Arun Murthy was working on creating an embedded
modem subsystem but the development stopped. However such a
subsystem is a generic problem of general interest and this would be
one of the candidates for drivers/modem I think. Sadly creating it
may be a lot of work, I don't know exactly.
http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=135027904405680&w=2

Yours,
Linus Walleij
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists