lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Sat,  1 Feb 2014 12:16:43 +0900
From:	Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@...dia.com>
To:	Ben Skeggs <bskeggs@...hat.com>, nouveau@...ts.freedesktop.org,
	dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org
Cc:	Terje Bergstrom <tbergstrom@...dia.com>,
	Ken Adams <KAdams@...dia.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
	Stephen Warren <swarren@...dotorg.org>,
	Eric Brower <ebrower@...dia.com>, linux-tegra@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, gnurou@...il.com,
	Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@...dia.com>
Subject: [RFC 01/16] drm/nouveau: handle -EACCES runtime PM return code

pm_runtime_get*() may return -EACCESS to indicate a device does not have
runtime PM enabled. This is the case when the nouveau.runpm parameter is
set to 0, and is not an error in that context. Handle this case without
failure.

Signed-off-by: Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@...dia.com>
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/dispnv04/crtc.c     | 2 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_connector.c | 2 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_drm.c       | 4 ++--
 3 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/dispnv04/crtc.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/dispnv04/crtc.c
index 0e3270c..1caef1f 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/dispnv04/crtc.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/dispnv04/crtc.c
@@ -1048,7 +1048,7 @@ nouveau_crtc_set_config(struct drm_mode_set *set)
 
 	/* get a pm reference here */
 	ret = pm_runtime_get_sync(dev->dev);
-	if (ret < 0)
+	if (ret < 0 && ret != -EACCES)
 		return ret;
 
 	ret = drm_crtc_helper_set_config(set);
diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_connector.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_connector.c
index 1674882..cddef54 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_connector.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_connector.c
@@ -255,7 +255,7 @@ nouveau_connector_detect(struct drm_connector *connector, bool force)
 	}
 
 	ret = pm_runtime_get_sync(connector->dev->dev);
-	if (ret < 0)
+	if (ret < 0 && ret != -EACCES)
 		return conn_status;
 
 	i2c = nouveau_connector_ddc_detect(connector, &nv_encoder);
diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_drm.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_drm.c
index 98a22e6..23299ca 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_drm.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_drm.c
@@ -670,7 +670,7 @@ nouveau_drm_open(struct drm_device *dev, struct drm_file *fpriv)
 
 	/* need to bring up power immediately if opening device */
 	ret = pm_runtime_get_sync(dev->dev);
-	if (ret < 0)
+	if (ret < 0 && ret != -EACCES)
 		return ret;
 
 	get_task_comm(tmpname, current);
@@ -753,7 +753,7 @@ long nouveau_drm_ioctl(struct file *filp,
 	dev = file_priv->minor->dev;
 
 	ret = pm_runtime_get_sync(dev->dev);
-	if (ret < 0)
+	if (ret < 0 && ret != -EACCES)
 		return ret;
 
 	ret = drm_ioctl(filp, cmd, arg);
-- 
1.8.5.3

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists