lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 27 Feb 2014 08:43:36 -0800
From:	Josh Triplett <josh@...htriplett.org>
To:	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>
Cc:	Rashika Kheria <rashika.kheria@...il.com>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...era.com>,
	Tony Lu <zlu@...era.com>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@...achi.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	"Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	Alex Elder <alex.elder@...aro.org>,
	Dhaval Giani <dhaval.giani@...il.com>,
	Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>,
	Daniel Borkmann <dborkman@...hat.com>,
	Andre Naujoks <nautsch2@...il.com>,
	Jason Baron <jbaron@...mai.com>,
	Rusty Russell <rusty@...tcorp.com.au>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
	Robin Holt <holt@....com>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
	Alex Thorlton <athorlton@....com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Chen Gang <gang.chen@...anux.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 02/46] kernel: Add prototype definition to
 include/linux/kernel.h

On Thu, Feb 27, 2014 at 11:32:30AM -0500, Steven Rostedt wrote:
> On Thu, 27 Feb 2014 16:38:50 +0530
> Rashika Kheria <rashika.kheria@...il.com> wrote:
> > Add prototype declaration to header file include/linux/kernel.h because
> > it is used by more than one file.
> > 
> > This also eliminates the following warning in kernel/panic.c:
> > kernel/panic.c:55:13: warning: no previous prototype for ‘panic_smp_self_stop’ [-Wmissing-prototypes]
> > 
> > Signed-off-by: Rashika Kheria <rashika.kheria@...il.com>
> > Reviewed-by: Josh Triplett <josh@...htriplett.org>
> > ---
> >  arch/tile/kernel/smp.c |    1 +
> >  include/linux/kernel.h |    2 ++
> >  kernel/panic.c         |    1 +
> >  3 files changed, 4 insertions(+)
> > 
> > diff --git a/arch/tile/kernel/smp.c b/arch/tile/kernel/smp.c
> > index 01e8ab2..8b645fd 100644
> > --- a/arch/tile/kernel/smp.c
> > +++ b/arch/tile/kernel/smp.c
> > @@ -19,6 +19,7 @@
> >  #include <linux/io.h>
> >  #include <linux/irq.h>
> >  #include <linux/module.h>
> > +#include <linux/kernel.h>
> >  #include <asm/cacheflush.h>
> >  #include <asm/homecache.h>
> >  
> > diff --git a/include/linux/kernel.h b/include/linux/kernel.h
> > index 196d1ea..c7cee7d 100644
> > --- a/include/linux/kernel.h
> > +++ b/include/linux/kernel.h
> > @@ -154,6 +154,8 @@ struct completion;
> >  struct pt_regs;
> >  struct user;
> >  
> > +void __weak panic_smp_self_stop(void);
> 
> Is __weak required in a prototype? What about the override that is not
> weak.

That's a good question.  It's definitely not required, and should be
dropped.  What I don't know is if it's broken to include it: does it
make the non-weak definition weak?

- Josh Triplett
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists