lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Fri, 07 Mar 2014 18:11:32 +0000
From:	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>
To:	Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@...com>,
	Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>
Cc:	Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <m.chehab@...sung.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
	Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@...sung.com>,
	Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@...asonboard.com>,
	Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@...sung.com>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-media@...r.kernel.org,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
	Guennadi Liakhovetski <g.liakhovetski@....de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 3/3] Documentation: of: Document graph bindings

On Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:50:52 +0200, Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@...com> wrote:
> On 26/02/14 16:57, Philipp Zabel wrote:
> > Hi Tomi,
> > 
> > Am Mittwoch, den 26.02.2014, 15:14 +0200 schrieb Tomi Valkeinen:
> >> On 25/02/14 16:58, Philipp Zabel wrote:
> >>
> >>> +Optional endpoint properties
> >>> +----------------------------
> >>> +
> >>> +- remote-endpoint: phandle to an 'endpoint' subnode of a remote device node.
> >>
> >> Why is that optional? What use is an endpoint, if it's not connected to
> >> something?
> > 
> > This allows to include the an empty endpoint template in a SoC dtsi for
> > the convenience of board dts writers. Also, the same property is
> > currently listed as optional in video-interfaces.txt.
> > 
> >   soc.dtsi:
> > 	display-controller {
> > 		port {
> > 			disp0: endpoint { };
> > 		};
> > 	};
> > 
> >   board.dts:
> > 	#include "soc.dtsi"
> > 	&disp0 {
> > 		remote-endpoint = <&panel_input>;
> > 	};
> > 	panel {
> > 		port {
> > 			panel_in: endpoint {
> > 				remote-endpoint = <&disp0>;
> > 			};
> > 		};
> > 	};
> > 
> > Any board not using that port can just leave the endpoint disconnected.
> 
> Hmm I see. I'm against that.
> 
> I think the SoC dtsi should not contain endpoint node, or even port node
> (at least usually). It doesn't know how many endpoints, if any, a
> particular board has. That part should be up to the board dts.

Why? We have established precedence for unused devices still being in
the tree. I really see no issue with it.

g.

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists