lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 10 Mar 2014 14:37:58 +0000
From:	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>
To:	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <m.chehab@...sung.com>
Cc:	Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>,
	Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@...com>,
	Guennadi Liakhovetski <g.liakhovetski@....de>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
	Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@...asonboard.com>,
	Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@...sung.com>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-media@...r.kernel.org,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
	Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@...sung.com>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@....linux.org.uk>
Subject: Re: [GIT PULL] Move device tree graph parsing helpers to drivers/of

On Mon, 10 Mar 2014 10:26:30 -0300, Mauro Carvalho Chehab <m.chehab@...sung.com> wrote:
> Em Fri, 07 Mar 2014 18:23:30 +0000
> Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org> escreveu:
> 
> > On Thu, 06 Mar 2014 18:13:20 +0100, Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de> wrote:
> > > Hi Mauro, Russell,
> > > 
> > > I have temporarily removed the simplified bindings at Sylwester's
> > > request and updated the branch with the acks. The following changes
> > > since commit 0414855fdc4a40da05221fc6062cccbc0c30f169:
> > > 
> > >   Linux 3.14-rc5 (2014-03-02 18:56:16 -0800)
> > > 
> > > are available in the git repository at:
> > > 
> > >   git://git.pengutronix.de/git/pza/linux.git topic/of-graph
> > > 
> > > for you to fetch changes up to d484700a36952c6675aa47dec4d7a536929aa922:
> > > 
> > >   of: Warn if of_graph_parse_endpoint is called with the root node (2014-03-06 17:41:54 +0100)
> > 
> > Nak. I made comments that haven't been resolved yet. I've replied with
> > more detail tonight. The big issues are how drivers handle the optional
> > 'ports' node and I do not agree to the double-linkage in the binding
> > description.
> 
> If I understood well, you're requesting to revert all those six patches
> that were imported via git pull from my tree (and from Greg and Russell),
> right?
> 
> E. g. reverting those changesets:
> 	d484700a3695 f2a575f67695 4329b93b283c 6ff60d397b17 4d56ed5a009b fd9fdb78a9bf
> 
> as it seems that there's no easy way to revert a git pull.

All trees containing the branch would need to be reverted.

> I suspect that this will likely cause some harm when merging from our
> trees upstream.

It means any tree containing that branch *must* be rewound. See my reply
to rmk. I've made a proposal on how I could be happy with leaving the
branches alone. I'm not particularly happy, but there is a way to
resolve things without reverts or rewinds.

g.
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists