lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 10 Mar 2014 08:28:59 -0700
From:	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com>
To:	Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>
Cc:	Gabriel FERNANDEZ <gabriel.fernandez@...com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
	Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@....com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@...lion.org.uk>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@...eaurora.org>,
	Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>,
	Russell King <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	linux-input@...r.kernel.org, kernel@...inux.com,
	Giuseppe Condorelli <giuseppe.condorelli@...com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/5] drivers: input: keyboard: st-keyscan: add keyscan
 driver

Hi Lee,

On Mon, Mar 10, 2014 at 11:48:19AM +0000, Lee Jones wrote:
> Hi Gabi,
> 
> Sorry for the delay. It was a hectic week last week.
> 
> As promised:
> 
> > This patch adds ST Keyscan driver to use the keypad hw a subset
> > of ST boards provide. Specific board setup will be put in the
> > given dt.
> > 
> > Signed-off-by: Giuseppe Condorelli <giuseppe.condorelli@...com>
> > Signed-off-by: Gabriel Fernandez <gabriel.fernandez@...com>
> 
> Are you sure these are in the correct order?
> 
> What is the history of this commit?
> 
> > ---
> >  .../devicetree/bindings/input/st-keypad.txt        |  50 ++++
> 
> This should be submitted as a seperate patch.

Why do we have such requirement? To me it would make more sense to add
binding documentation in the same commit as the code that uses these
bindings.

[...]

> > +
> > +	error = matrix_keypad_parse_of_params(dev, &pdata->num_out_pads,
> > +			&pdata->num_in_pads);
> > +	if (error) {
> > +		dev_err(dev, "failed to parse keypad params\n");
> > +		return error;
> 
> Nit: It's pretty unusual to use this for a standard error handling
> variable. Consider 'ret' or 'err' as a replacement.

I like "error", in fact there are a lot of these in input. I use "error" for
data that is only returned from error path and "retval" when the same
variable is returned in both success and error paths.

> > +
> > +	input_dev->id.bustype = BUS_HOST;
> > +	input_dev->id.vendor = 0x0001;
> > +	input_dev->id.product = 0x0001;
> > +	input_dev->id.version = 0x0100;
> 
> Any chance we can #define these?

Even better would be not use 0x0001 as vendor as there (unfortunately)
quite a few other drivers use it already. Either omit or chose something
else. Does ST have PCI or USB VID assigned?

Thanks.

-- 
Dmitry
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists