lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Sun, 16 Mar 2014 04:09:17 -0300
From:	Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel.garcia@...e-electrons.com>
To:	Sebastian Capella <sebastian.capella@...aro.org>
Cc:	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
	linaro-kernel@...ts.linaro.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>,
	Russell King <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	Jonathan Austin <jonathan.austin@....com>,
	Victor Kamensky <victor.kamensky@...aro.org>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nico@...aro.org>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Uwe Kleine-König 
	<u.kleine-koenig@...gutronix.de>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Laura Abbott <lauraa@...eaurora.org>,
	Sricharan R <r.sricharan@...com>,
	Ben Dooks <ben.dooks@...ethink.co.uk>,
	Russ Dill <Russ.Dill@...com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@...com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...eaurora.org>,
	Stefano Stabellini <stefano.stabellini@...citrix.com>,
	Jiang Liu <liuj97@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 2/2] ARM hibernation / suspend-to-disk

On Mar 05, Sebastian Capella wrote:
[..]
> diff --git a/arch/arm/mm/Kconfig b/arch/arm/mm/Kconfig
> index 1f8fed9..83707702 100644
> --- a/arch/arm/mm/Kconfig
> +++ b/arch/arm/mm/Kconfig
> @@ -611,6 +611,11 @@ config CPU_USE_DOMAINS
>  config IO_36
>  	bool
>  
> +config ARCH_HIBERNATION_POSSIBLE
> +	bool
> +	depends on MMU
> +	default y if CPU_ARM920T || CPU_ARM926T || CPU_SA1100 || CPU_XSCALE || CPU_XSC3 || CPU_V6 || CPU_V6K || CPU_V7
> +
>  comment "Processor Features"
>  

Is there any reason why CPU_FEROCEON is not listed here? FWIW, I've just built
(but not really tested) a Kirkwood kernel with CONFIG_HIBERNATION=y.

And is there any reason to put this config in arch/arm/mm/Kconfig, instead of
in arch/arm/Kconfig, below ARCH_SUSPEND_POSSIBLE? 

I'm also puzzled about having two separate options for suspend and hibernate,
maybe someone can explain me why a given CPU would support the former but not
the latter?

Thanks!
-- 
Ezequiel García, Free Electrons
Embedded Linux, Kernel and Android Engineering
http://free-electrons.com
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists