lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 3 Apr 2014 13:15:52 -0700
From:	Sören Brinkmann <soren.brinkmann@...inx.com>
To:	Rob Herring <robherring2@...il.com>
CC:	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>, Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@....com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@...lion.org.uk>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@...eaurora.org>,
	Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>,
	Russell King <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	Wolfram Sang <wsa@...-dreams.de>,
	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@...inx.com>,
	Mike Looijmans <mike.looijmans@...ic.nl>,
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
	Harini Katakam <harinik@...inx.com>,
	"linux-doc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
	"devicetree@...r.kernel.org" <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linux-i2c@...r.kernel.org" <linux-i2c@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 1/3] i2c: cadence: Document device tree bindings

On Thu, 2014-04-03 at 02:51PM -0500, Rob Herring wrote:
> On Thu, Apr 3, 2014 at 12:59 PM, Soren Brinkmann
> <soren.brinkmann@...inx.com> wrote:
> > Add device tree binding documentation for the Cadence I2C controller.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Soren Brinkmann <soren.brinkmann@...inx.com>
> > ---
> >
> > Changes in v4:
> >  - moved adding DT docs into this dedicated patch
> >
> > Changes in v3: None
> > Changes in v2: None
> >
> > ---
> >  .../devicetree/bindings/i2c/i2c-cadence.txt         | 21 +++++++++++++++++++++
> >  1 file changed, 21 insertions(+)
> >  create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/i2c/i2c-cadence.txt
> >
> > diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/i2c/i2c-cadence.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/i2c/i2c-cadence.txt
> > new file mode 100644
> > index 000000000000..685adf513111
> > --- /dev/null
> > +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/i2c/i2c-cadence.txt
> > @@ -0,0 +1,21 @@
> > +Binding for the Cadence I2C controller
> > +
> > +Required properties:
> > +  compatible: Compatibility string. Must be 'cdns,i2c-r1p10'.
> > +  clocks: From common clock bindings. Phandle to input clock.
> > +
> > +Optional properties:
> > +  clock-frequency: Desired operating frequency, in Hz, of the bus (actual may
> > +                  be lower). Defaults to 400000 if not specified.
> 
> Since not all devices support 400kHz, I would prefer that the default
> be 100kHz. Also, it would be good if what speed the default is
> consistent across i2c drivers.

Fine with me. I'll change this.

	Thanks,
	Sören


--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists