lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 22 May 2014 09:47:45 -0700
From:	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
To:	netdev@...r.kernel.org
Cc:	davem@...emloft.net, Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
	Pantelis Antoniou <pantelis.antoniou@...il.com>,
	Vitaly Bordug <vbordug@...mvista.com>,
	Li Yang <leoli@...escale.com>,
	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>,
	Sergei Shtylyov <sergei.shtylyov@...entembedded.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...e-electrons.com>,
	Aida Mynzhasova <aida.mynzhasova@...tlab.ru>,
	Richard Cochran <richardcochran@...il.com>,
	Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@...escale.com>,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org (open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND...),
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org (open list),
	linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org (open list:LINUX FOR POWERPC...)
Subject: [PATCH net-next v2 3/9] net: bcmgenet: use the new fixed PHY helpers

of_phy_connect_fixed_link() is becoming obsolete, and also required
platform code to register the fixed PHYs at the specified addresses for
those to be usable. Get rid of it and use the new of_phy_is_fixed_link()
plus of_phy_register_fixed_link() helpers to transition over the new
scheme.

Signed-off-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
---
No changes in v2

 drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/genet/bcmmii.c | 21 +++++++++++++--------
 1 file changed, 13 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/genet/bcmmii.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/genet/bcmmii.c
index 4608673beaff..add8d8596084 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/genet/bcmmii.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/genet/bcmmii.c
@@ -298,6 +298,7 @@ int bcmgenet_mii_config(struct net_device *dev)
 static int bcmgenet_mii_probe(struct net_device *dev)
 {
 	struct bcmgenet_priv *priv = netdev_priv(dev);
+	struct device_node *dn = priv->pdev->dev.of_node;
 	struct phy_device *phydev;
 	unsigned int phy_flags;
 	int ret;
@@ -307,15 +308,19 @@ static int bcmgenet_mii_probe(struct net_device *dev)
 		return 0;
 	}
 
-	if (priv->phy_dn)
-		phydev = of_phy_connect(dev, priv->phy_dn,
-					bcmgenet_mii_setup, 0,
-					priv->phy_interface);
-	else
-		phydev = of_phy_connect_fixed_link(dev,
-					bcmgenet_mii_setup,
-					priv->phy_interface);
+	/* In the case of a fixed PHY, the DT node associated
+	 * to the PHY is the Ethernet MAC DT node.
+	 */
+	if (of_phy_is_fixed_link(dn)) {
+		ret = of_phy_register_fixed_link(dn);
+		if (ret)
+			return ret;
+
+		priv->phy_dn = dn;
+	}
 
+	phydev = of_phy_connect(dev, priv->phy_dn, bcmgenet_mii_setup, 0,
+				priv->phy_interface);
 	if (!phydev) {
 		pr_err("could not attach to PHY\n");
 		return -ENODEV;
-- 
1.9.1

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists