lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Wed, 18 Jun 2014 12:01:45 -0700
From:	Kevin Hilman <khilman@...aro.org>
To:	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...eaurora.org>
Cc:	Taras Kondratiuk <taras.kondratiuk@...aro.org>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...e-electrons.com>,
	Russell King <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	Jason Cooper <jason@...edaemon.net>,
	Victor Kamensky <victor.kamensky@...aro.org>,
	Nico Pitre <nico@...xnic.net>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Ben Dooks <ben.dooks@...ethink.co.uk>,
	Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>,
	Linaro Networking <linaro-networking@...aro.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] ARM: zImage: ensure header in LE format for BE8 kernels

On Wed, Jun 18, 2014 at 11:22 AM, Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...eaurora.org> wrote:
> On 06/18/14 11:21, Kevin Hilman wrote:
>> On Wed, Jun 18, 2014 at 11:14 AM, Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...eaurora.org> wrote:
>>> On 06/18/14 10:55, Kevin Hilman wrote:
>>>> All of that to say, with this patch applied, I need a new (and
>>>> reliable) way to determine the endianness of a kernel just by looking
>>>> at the zImage.  Recommendations welcome.
>>> Assuming that you have the .config configured to be built into the
>>> kernel you could use extract-ikconfig
>>>
>>> $ ./scripts/extract-ikconfig zImage | grep CONFIG_CPU_ENDIAN_BE8
>> Unfortunately, I can't rely on having that built in since I want the
>> boot tools to be as generic as possible.
>>
>>
>
> Yeah ok. Perhaps you can look for the 'setend be' instruction right
> after the magic values instead.

Yeah, that works, as long as I can always assume that instruction will
be at the same offset (currently at 0x30).

Kevin
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists