lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 10 Jul 2014 10:38:30 +0300
From:	Stanimir Varbanov <svarbanov@...sol.com>
To:	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...eaurora.org>
CC:	linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org, Rob Herring <rob.herring@...xeda.com>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@...eaurora.org>,
	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>,
	Courtney Cavin <courtney.cavin@...ymobile.com>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>,
	Josh Cartwright <joshc@...eaurora.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH v2 3/5] rtc: add qpnp rtc driver

Hi Stephen,

On 07/09/2014 09:07 PM, Stephen Boyd wrote:
> On 07/03/14 06:14, Stanimir Varbanov wrote:
>> A 32bits RTC is housed inside PMIC. The RTC driver uses QPNP
>> SPMI interface to communicate with the PMIC RTC module.
>>
>> The RTC device is divided into two sub-peripherals:
>>  - RTC read-write peripheral having basic RTC registers
>>  - alarm peripheral for controlling alarm
>>
>> These two RTC peripherals are childrens of QPNP SPMI bus. They
>> use regmap to read/write to its registers into PMIC.
>>
> 
> What happened to using Josh's patch for rtc-pm8xxx.c[1]? That seems
> easier than adding an entire new driver for almost the same hardware.
> 

Ups, I completely forgot about Josh's patch, thanks for the reminder.
Nevermind, the intention of the patch set was to get agreement on the
approach of the qpnp-spmi driver. The rtc is just slightly reworked to
platform driver downstream rtc driver. And last but not least I've used
rtc to test the approach and as a example of PMIC function/peripheral
driver.

I will see what efforts are needed to reuse rtc-pm8xxx.

> [1]
> http://lists.infradead.org/pipermail/linux-arm-kernel/2013-October/207665.html
> 

-- 
regards,
Stan
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists