lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 10 Jul 2014 02:03:18 +0200
From:	Andi Kleen <andi@...stfloor.org>
To:	Vegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@...il.com>
Cc:	Andi Kleen <andi@...stfloor.org>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@...sung.com>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	Konstantin Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
	Alexey Preobrazhensky <preobr@...gle.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <adech.fo@...il.com>,
	Yuri Gribov <tetra2005@...il.com>,
	Konstantin Khlebnikov <koct9i@...il.com>,
	Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@...cle.com>,
	Michal Marek <mmarek@...e.cz>,
	Russell King <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>,
	David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
	Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	kbuild <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	x86 maintainers <x86@...nel.org>,
	Linux Memory Management List <linux-mm@...ck.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC/PATCH RESEND -next 00/21] Address sanitizer for kernel
 (kasan) - dynamic memory error detector.

> FWIW, I definitely agree with this -- if KASAN can do everything that
> kmemcheck can, it is no doubt the right way forward.

Thanks

BTW I didn't want to sound like I'm against kmemcheck. It is a very
useful tool and was impressive work given the constraints (no help from
the compiler)

-andi
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists