lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 10 Jul 2014 10:02:21 -0400
From:	Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@...cle.com>
To:	Andrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@...sung.com>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
CC:	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	Konstantin Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
	Alexey Preobrazhensky <preobr@...gle.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <adech.fo@...il.com>,
	Yuri Gribov <tetra2005@...il.com>,
	Konstantin Khlebnikov <koct9i@...il.com>,
	Michal Marek <mmarek@...e.cz>,
	Russell King <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>,
	David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
	Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	x86@...nel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC/PATCH RESEND -next 01/21] Add kernel address sanitizer infrastructure.

On 07/10/2014 09:39 AM, Andrey Ryabinin wrote:
>> Anyways, the machine won't boot with more than 1GB of RAM, is there a solution to
>> > get KASAN running on my machine?
>> > 
> Could you share you .config? I'll try to boot it by myself. It could be that some options conflicting with kasan.
> Also boot cmdline might help.
> 

Sure. It's the .config I use for fuzzing so it's rather big (attached).

The cmdline is:

[    0.000000] Command line: noapic noacpi pci=conf1 reboot=k panic=1 i8042.direct=1 i8042.dumbkbd=1 i8042.nopnp=1 console=ttyS0 earlyprintk=serial i8042.noaux=1 numa=fake=32 init=/virt/init zcache ftrace_dump_on_oops debugpat kvm.mmu_audit=1 slub_debug=FZPU rcutorture.rcutorture_runnable=0 loop.max_loop=64 zram.num_devices=4 rcutorture.nreaders=8 oops=panic nr_hugepages=1000 numa_balancing=enable softlockup_all_cpu_backtrace=1 root=/dev/root rw rootflags=rw,trans=virtio,version=9p2000.L rootfstype=9p init=/virt/init

And the memory map:

[    0.000000] e820: BIOS-provided physical RAM map:
[    0.000000] BIOS-e820: [mem 0x0000000000000000-0x000000000009fbff] usable
[    0.000000] BIOS-e820: [mem 0x000000000009fc00-0x000000000009ffff] reserved
[    0.000000] BIOS-e820: [mem 0x00000000000f0000-0x00000000000ffffe] reserved
[    0.000000] BIOS-e820: [mem 0x0000000000100000-0x00000000cfffffff] usable
[    0.000000] BIOS-e820: [mem 0x0000000100000000-0x0000000705ffffff] usable


On 07/10/2014 09:50 AM, Andrey Ryabinin wrote:>> Anyways, the machine won't boot with more than 1GB of RAM, is there a solution to
>> > get KASAN running on my machine?
>> >
> It's not boot with the same Failed to allocate error?

I think I misunderstood your question here. With >1GB is triggers a panic() when
KASAN fails the memblock allocation. With <=1GB it fails a bit later in boot just
because 1GB isn't enough to load everything - so it fails in some other random
spot as it runs on out memory.


Thanks,
Sasha

Download attachment "config.sasha.gz" of type "application/gzip" (40233 bytes)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists