lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:31:57 +0100
From:	One Thousand Gnomes <gnomes@...rguk.ukuu.org.uk>
To:	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
Cc:	Yoshihiro YUNOMAE <yoshihiro.yunomae.ez@...achi.com>,
	Stephen Warren <swarren@...dia.com>,
	Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>,
	Jingoo Han <jg1.han@...sung.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	Hidehiro Kawai <hidehiro.kawai.ez@...achi.com>,
	linux-serial@...r.kernel.org, yrl.pp-manager.tt@...achi.com,
	Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@...achi.com>,
	Aaron Sierra <asierra@...-inc.com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V8 2/2] serial/uart/8250: Add tunable RX interrupt
 trigger I/F of FIFO buffers

> I really don't like the way that the tty core has been changed to handle
> multiple attribute groups, as I feel tty drivers shouldn't be creating
> "special" sysfs files, depending on what driver is bound to them.

The intent isn't that it is "special" but that it can be propogated to
others as and when they wish to provide it.
 
> Usually we have handled this using tools like 'stty' and ioctls, right?
> Surely there is an ioctl to control the interrupt level, right?  Hasn't
> this been covered before somehow?

No, and the direction when this started was to use sysfs as we have also
been moving all the other attributes towards sysfs and has been since
2012.

TTY devices do have lots of strange attributes and right now many of them
are only programmable by using device tree and rebooting.

Alan
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists