lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Fri, 18 Jul 2014 14:12:51 +0200
From:	Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>
To:	stable@...r.kernel.org
Cc:	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@...sung.com>,
	Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@...a86.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Gleb Natapov <gleb@...nel.org>, Alexander Graf <agraf@...e.de>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>
Subject: [PATCH 3.12 166/170] DMA, CMA: fix possible memory leak

From: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>

3.12-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

===============

commit fe8eea4f4a3f299ef83ed090d5354698ebe4fda8 upstream.

We should free memory for bitmap when we find zone mismatch, otherwise
this memory will leak.

Additionally, I copy code comment from PPC KVM's CMA code to inform why
we need to check zone mis-match.

Signed-off-by: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>
Acked-by: Zhang Yanfei <zhangyanfei@...fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@...a86.com>
Reviewed-by: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@...nel.org>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@...sung.com>
Cc: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@...a86.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>
Cc: Gleb Natapov <gleb@...nel.org>
Cc: Alexander Graf <agraf@...e.de>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>
---
 drivers/base/dma-contiguous.c | 12 +++++++++++-
 1 file changed, 11 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/base/dma-contiguous.c b/drivers/base/dma-contiguous.c
index 99802d6f3c60..e057744150ea 100644
--- a/drivers/base/dma-contiguous.c
+++ b/drivers/base/dma-contiguous.c
@@ -155,13 +155,23 @@ static int __init cma_activate_area(struct cma *cma)
 		base_pfn = pfn;
 		for (j = pageblock_nr_pages; j; --j, pfn++) {
 			WARN_ON_ONCE(!pfn_valid(pfn));
+			/*
+			 * alloc_contig_range requires the pfn range
+			 * specified to be in the same zone. Make this
+			 * simple by forcing the entire CMA resv range
+			 * to be in the same zone.
+			 */
 			if (page_zone(pfn_to_page(pfn)) != zone)
-				return -EINVAL;
+				goto err;
 		}
 		init_cma_reserved_pageblock(pfn_to_page(base_pfn));
 	} while (--i);
 
 	return 0;
+
+err:
+	kfree(cma->bitmap);
+	return -EINVAL;
 }
 
 static struct cma cma_areas[MAX_CMA_AREAS];
-- 
2.0.0

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists