lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:43:15 -0400
From:	Jerome Glisse <j.glisse@...il.com>
To:	Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@...tuousgeek.org>
Cc:	Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@...hat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@...llo.nl>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Hugh Dickins <hughd@...gle.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>,
	Johannes Weiner <jweiner@...hat.com>,
	Jerome Glisse <jglisse@...hat.com>, jroedel@...e.de,
	Jay.Cornwall@....com, Oded.Gabbay@....com, John.Bridgman@....com,
	Suravee.Suthikulpanit@....com, ben.sander@....com,
	David Woodhouse <dwmw2@...radead.org>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
	iommu@...ts.linux-foundation.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/3] mmu_notifier: Add mmu_notifier_invalidate_range()

On Fri, Jul 25, 2014 at 01:16:39PM -0700, Jesse Barnes wrote:
> On Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:35:39 +0200
> Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org> wrote:
> 
> > From: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@...e.de>
> > 
> > This notifier closes an important gap with the current
> > invalidate_range_start()/end() notifiers. The _start() part
> > is called when all pages are still mapped while the _end()
> > notifier is called when all pages are potentially unmapped
> > and already freed.
> > 
> > This does not allow to manage external (non-CPU) hardware
> > TLBs with MMU-notifiers because there is no way to prevent
> > that hardware will establish new TLB entries between the
> > calls of these two functions. But this is a requirement to
> > the subsytem that implements these existing notifiers.
> > 
> > To allow managing external TLBs the MMU-notifiers need to
> > catch the moment when pages are unmapped but not yet freed.
> > This new notifier catches that moment and notifies the
> > interested subsytem when pages that were unmapped are about
> > to be freed. The new notifier will only be called between
> > invalidate_range_start()/end().
> 
> So if we were actually sharing page tables, we should be able to make
> start/end no-ops and just use this new callback, assuming we didn't
> need to do any other serialization or debug stuff, right?
> 
> Seems like a good addition, and saves us a bunch of trouble...

Pondering on that i think there is a missing call to mmu_notifier_invalidate_range
inside move_huge_pmd which is call by move_page_tables. 

But otherwise yes, you should not need to register range_start/end() callback. It
should be enought to only register the invalidate_range callback.

Note that on my side i will remain an user of range_start/end() but other listener
like kvm or xen or sgi might want to revisit there code with this new callback.

Cheers,
Jérôme

> 
> Thanks,
> -- 
> Jesse Barnes, Intel Open Source Technology Center
> 
> --
> To unsubscribe, send a message with 'unsubscribe linux-mm' in
> the body to majordomo@...ck.org.  For more info on Linux MM,
> see: http://www.linux-mm.org/ .
> Don't email: <a href=mailto:"dont@...ck.org"> email@...ck.org </a>
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists