lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 28 Jul 2014 15:12:11 +0000
From:	Yuval Mintz <Yuval.Mintz@...gic.com>
To:	"Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...not-panic.com>,
	"gregkh@...uxfoundation.org" <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
CC:	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	"Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...e.com>,
	Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@...ove.SAKURA.ne.jp>,
	Joseph Salisbury <joseph.salisbury@...onical.com>,
	Kay Sievers <kay@...y.org>,
	One Thousand Gnomes <gnomes@...rguk.ukuu.org.uk>,
	"Tim Gardner" <tim.gardner@...onical.com>,
	Pierre Fersing <pierre-fersing@...rref.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	"Oleg Nesterov" <oleg@...hat.com>,
	Benjamin Poirier <bpoirier@...e.de>,
	"Nagalakshmi Nandigama" <nagalakshmi.nandigama@...gotech.com>,
	Praveen Krishnamoorthy <praveen.krishnamoorthy@...gotech.com>,
	Sreekanth Reddy <sreekanth.reddy@...gotech.com>,
	Abhijit Mahajan <abhijit.mahajan@...gotech.com>,
	Hariprasad S <hariprasad@...lsio.com>,
	Santosh Rastapur <santosh@...lsio.com>,
	"MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@...gotech.com" 
	<MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@...gotech.com>,
	linux-scsi <linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org>,
	netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: RE: [PATCH 1/3] driver core: enable drivers to use deferred probe
 from init

> +static int __driver_probe_device(struct device_driver *drv, struct
> +device *dev) {
> +	if (drv->delay_probe && !dev->init_delayed_probe) {
> +		dev_info(dev, "Driver %s requests probe deferral on init\n",
> +			 drv->name);
> +		dev->init_delayed_probe = true;
> +		driver_deferred_probe_add(dev);
> +		return -EPROBE_DEFER;
> +	}
> +
> +	return really_probe(dev, drv);
> +}

Perhaps this is a silly question, but what guarantees that the deferred probe
list will actually be triggered, e.g., in case the delayed device is the last device
in the system?

[From drivers/base/dd.c  - "A successful driver probe will trigger moving all
devices from the pending to the active list so that the workqueue will
eventually retry them]

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists