lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 07 Aug 2014 09:49:49 +0200
From:	Javier Martinez Canillas <javier.martinez@...labora.co.uk>
To:	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com>
CC:	Tomasz Figa <tomasz.figa@...il.com>,
	Nick Dyer <nick.dyer@...ev.co.uk>,
	Stephen Warren <swarren@...dia.com>,
	Yufeng Shen <miletus@...omium.org>,
	Benson Leung <bleung@...omium.org>,
	Doug Anderson <dianders@...omium.org>,
	Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>, linux-input@...r.kernel.org,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org, linux-samsung-soc@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] Input: atmel_mxt_ts - Get IRQ edge/level flags on
 DT booting

Hello Dmitry,

On 08/07/2014 08:09 AM, Dmitry Torokhov wrote:
>> 
>> > irq_of_parse_and_map() already sets up IRQ trigger type based on DT
>> > data, by calling irq_create_of_mapping() which in turn calls
>> > irq_set_irq_type().
>> >
>> 
>> Right but somehow when the IRQ is actually requested the type is overwritten by
>> the value passed to request_threaded_irq() and interrupts are not being
>> generated by the device without this patch.
>> 
>> Do you think that this is a bug in the "interrupt-parent" irqchip driver or the
>> IRQ core? I'm not that familiar with the IRQ subsystem.
> 
> No, this is clearly driver fault - it smashed previously done setup with new
> flags.
>

Thanks a lot for the clarification. That was my understanding as well but wanted
to be sure.

>> > 
>> > It might be a bit cleaner to just assign the flags to pdata->irqflags in
>> > mxt_parse_dt() instead. That would also account for the fact that pdata,
>> > if provided, should have priority over DT.
>> > 
>> 
>> You are totally right, also this will break if CONFIG_OF is not enabled since
>> dev.of_node will not be defined. While this already is taken into account for
>> mxt_parse_dt() by defining an empty function.
>> 
>> I'll change it in v2 if getting the flags from the driver is the right approach
> 
> Yes, please.
> 

Just posted a v2 [0] with Tomasz suggestion and the patch is indeed a lot cleaner.

Best regards,
Javier

[0]: https://lkml.org/lkml/2014/8/7/82

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists