lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu,  7 Aug 2014 08:01:51 -0700
From:	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Doug Anderson <dianders@...omium.org>,
	Liu hua <sdu.liu@...wei.com>, Mark Salter <msalter@...hat.com>,
	Rabin Vincent <rabin@....in>,
	Nikolay Borisov <Nikolay.Borisov@....com>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>,
	Leif Lindholm <leif.lindholm@...aro.org>,
	Tomasz Figa <t.figa@...sung.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
	Doug Anderson <dianders@...gle.com>,
	Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@...driver.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Laura Abbott <lauraa@...eaurora.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
Subject: [PATCH 6/8] arm: kgdb: Handle read-only text / modules

From: Doug Anderson <dianders@...omium.org>

Handle the case where someone has set the text segment of the kernel
as read-only by using the newly introduced "patch" mechanism.

Signed-off-by: Doug Anderson <dianders@...omium.org>
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
---
 arch/arm/kernel/Makefile |  2 +-
 arch/arm/kernel/kgdb.c   | 30 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 2 files changed, 31 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/Makefile b/arch/arm/kernel/Makefile
index 38ddd9f83d0e..70b730766330 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kernel/Makefile
+++ b/arch/arm/kernel/Makefile
@@ -67,7 +67,7 @@ test-kprobes-objs		+= kprobes-test-arm.o
 endif
 obj-$(CONFIG_OABI_COMPAT)	+= sys_oabi-compat.o
 obj-$(CONFIG_ARM_THUMBEE)	+= thumbee.o
-obj-$(CONFIG_KGDB)		+= kgdb.o
+obj-$(CONFIG_KGDB)		+= kgdb.o patch.o
 obj-$(CONFIG_ARM_UNWIND)	+= unwind.o
 obj-$(CONFIG_HAVE_TCM)		+= tcm.o
 obj-$(CONFIG_OF)		+= devtree.o
diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/kgdb.c b/arch/arm/kernel/kgdb.c
index a74b53c1b7df..b2b9ccb6be59 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kernel/kgdb.c
+++ b/arch/arm/kernel/kgdb.c
@@ -12,8 +12,12 @@
 #include <linux/irq.h>
 #include <linux/kdebug.h>
 #include <linux/kgdb.h>
+#include <linux/uaccess.h>
+
 #include <asm/traps.h>
 
+#include "patch.h"
+
 struct dbg_reg_def_t dbg_reg_def[DBG_MAX_REG_NUM] =
 {
 	{ "r0", 4, offsetof(struct pt_regs, ARM_r0)},
@@ -244,6 +248,32 @@ void kgdb_arch_exit(void)
 	unregister_die_notifier(&kgdb_notifier);
 }
 
+int kgdb_arch_set_breakpoint(struct kgdb_bkpt *bpt)
+{
+	int err;
+
+	/* patch_text() only supports int-sized breakpoints */
+	if (sizeof(int) != BREAK_INSTR_SIZE)
+		return -EINVAL;
+
+	err = probe_kernel_read(bpt->saved_instr, (char *)bpt->bpt_addr,
+				BREAK_INSTR_SIZE);
+	if (err)
+		return err;
+
+	patch_text((void *)bpt->bpt_addr,
+		   *(unsigned int *)arch_kgdb_ops.gdb_bpt_instr);
+
+	return err;
+}
+
+int kgdb_arch_remove_breakpoint(struct kgdb_bkpt *bpt)
+{
+	patch_text((void *)bpt->bpt_addr, *(unsigned int *)bpt->saved_instr);
+
+	return 0;
+}
+
 /*
  * Register our undef instruction hooks with ARM undef core.
  * We regsiter a hook specifically looking for the KGB break inst
-- 
1.9.1

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists